We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like being back in Germany.”
Review of The German Cafe

The German Cafe
Ranked #51 of 691 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's like being back in Germany.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We love Germany, so this restaurant helps us to remember our trips there. The decor and food is authentic. DO NOT LEAVE UNTIL YOU TRY THE STRUDEL! It is delicious as well as the potato salad!
Parking is easy and the staff is really nice.
This is always a go to place when we are in the area!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank smlnmyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    52
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Cotton Exchange Treat”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

After scoping out several restaurants in the Cotton Exchange for lunch, our group of four decided on the German Cafe. Harvey's reuben had the leanest corned beef I have ever had. The lentil soup was delicious. My husband had the roast beef special sandwich which was favorful and very tender. Our friends who have a German heritage had the schnitzel sandwich and luncheon
Bratwurst platter. Both agreed the food and beer were very good.
We ate in the back room with authentic brick walls and the most atmosphere. Buy the cherry strudel for $6.00 and enjoy it later. A strudel dessert is $4.95 for a piece of strudel and whipped cream.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BOKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Service and Good Food_DvB”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I think the food was very good, but standard German food is not complex. The prices were fair and the staff was very personable. We were in a large group and the staff accomodated us quickly and capably. The beer selection offers quality German brews and the desserts are flavorful as well. This restaurant is situated in a shopping area and within walking distance of a major hotel and the river. It was not open for breakfast. I would eat there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaiser_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint little restaurant”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great food and a quiet meal was exactly what I was looking for. I have eaten here previously and have always gotten good value for the money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsmithfta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sehr Gut!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The food and service in this restaurant was outstanding! I had one of the specials with bratwurst, kraut and potato salad and it was incredibly authentic and flavorful. I grew up in Wisconsin, have traveled in Germany and am of German descent -- German (especially "Bavarian") food is in my blood! Yum. My daughter and granddaughter had the schnitzel and they, too, have European travel and living experiences. They really enjoyed their meals, too. We took apple and cherry strudels back to the beach with us and shared them with the rest of the family...we fought over the last bites. Yum!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The German Cafe also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The German Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing