We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service and Good Food_DvB” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The German Cafe

The German Cafe
Ranked #40 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
Level Contributor
214 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Service and Good Food_DvB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I think the food was very good, but standard German food is not complex. The prices were fair and the staff was very personable. We were in a large group and the staff accomodated us quickly and capably. The beer selection offers quality German brews and the desserts are flavorful as well. This restaurant is situated in a shopping area and within walking distance of a major hotel and the river. It was not open for breakfast. I would eat there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaiser_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    48
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great food and a quiet meal was exactly what I was looking for. I have eaten here previously and have always gotten good value for the money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsmithfta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sehr Gut!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The food and service in this restaurant was outstanding! I had one of the specials with bratwurst, kraut and potato salad and it was incredibly authentic and flavorful. I grew up in Wisconsin, have traveled in Germany and am of German descent -- German (especially "Bavarian") food is in my blood! Yum. My daughter and granddaughter had the schnitzel and they, too, have European travel and living experiences. They really enjoyed their meals, too. We took apple and cherry strudels back to the beach with us and shared them with the rest of the family...we fought over the last bites. Yum!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ser Guht!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Wonderful little cafe with nice selection of German food and beer and wine. Actually an excellent selection on the beer side. Cozy, quiet, friendly service. Reasonable prices in a brick and wood setting. The wurst sampler was a nice light bite shared by two. Family owned for 29 years, started by the parents and now operated by the children. The staff was friendly and attentive, even if conversation was not auf Deutsch. Definitely will stop in again when visiting Wilmington riverside area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TCU61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
256 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The potato pancakes are simply the best. The Apple Streudel was delicious. The Roladen was very good. The Schnitzel was good but it could have been thinner. Definitely worth the visit.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The German Cafe also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The German Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing