We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ser Guht!”
Review of The German Cafe

The German Cafe
Ranked #42 of 673 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ser Guht!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Wonderful little cafe with nice selection of German food and beer and wine. Actually an excellent selection on the beer side. Cozy, quiet, friendly service. Reasonable prices in a brick and wood setting. The wurst sampler was a nice light bite shared by two. Family owned for 29 years, started by the parents and now operated by the children. The staff was friendly and attentive, even if conversation was not auf Deutsch. Definitely will stop in again when visiting Wilmington riverside area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TCU61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    49
    20
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
257 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with good food.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The potato pancakes are simply the best. The Apple Streudel was delicious. The Roladen was very good. The Schnitzel was good but it could have been thinner. Definitely worth the visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A cozy place for good food and very good service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Another reviewer quite accurately described The German Café as a “find.” My wife and I found The German Café to be a delightfully cozy find on a Saturday evening down by the water when most of the restaurants on Front Street were crowded and noisy with Coast Guard personnel, even though Wilmington’s Coast Guard ship was at the time on illicit drug interdiction duty in the Caribbean. Michiko and I had walked up and down Front Street before going to the Water street area to find a suitable restaurant. The German Cave is in an old red brick building. The inner walls of the place are also still red brick. Our waitress was a cheerful, buxom German (in appearance anyway) girl showing enough cleavage to increase her tip rate by at least 20 percent. The food was wonderful. Michiko was very cheerful throughout the entire stroll and dinner. While we were walking back to the hotel, I told Michiko, "I left that waitress an ample tip because she was ISSHOKENMEI (a Japanese word meaning eager and hard working)." Michiko agreed, "Yes, she was ISSHOKENMEI." I didn't say, "I left her an ample tip because she showed ample cleavage."

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Cozy feel , friendly staff and simple home style German fare- schnitzels , sandwiches, sausage platters etc excellent homemade desserts- strudels and cakes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crikey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Authentic German Cusine, Charming Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've dined at The German Cafe for years and its always been an enjoyable experience! The food is delicious, the service efficient and friendly, and the restaurant atmosphere is warm with charming German decor. Their entrees, Napoleons and Apple and Cherry Strudels are incredibly good! They've made many occasions like Valentine's and Mother's Day extra special with fine touches like table decor, flowers to take home with you and party favors or candy. Once there was even a fun accordian player who took song requests. We absolutely love the place! Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vlg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The German Cafe also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The German Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing