We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy place for good food and very good service”
Review of The German Cafe

The German Cafe
Ranked #51 of 691 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A cozy place for good food and very good service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Another reviewer quite accurately described The German Café as a “find.” My wife and I found The German Café to be a delightfully cozy find on a Saturday evening down by the water when most of the restaurants on Front Street were crowded and noisy with Coast Guard personnel, even though Wilmington’s Coast Guard ship was at the time on illicit drug interdiction duty in the Caribbean. Michiko and I had walked up and down Front Street before going to the Water street area to find a suitable restaurant. The German Cave is in an old red brick building. The inner walls of the place are also still red brick. Our waitress was a cheerful, buxom German (in appearance anyway) girl showing enough cleavage to increase her tip rate by at least 20 percent. The food was wonderful. Michiko was very cheerful throughout the entire stroll and dinner. While we were walking back to the hotel, I told Michiko, "I left that waitress an ample tip because she was ISSHOKENMEI (a Japanese word meaning eager and hard working)." Michiko agreed, "Yes, she was ISSHOKENMEI." I didn't say, "I left her an ample tip because she showed ample cleavage."

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    52
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skillman, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Cozy feel , friendly staff and simple home style German fare- schnitzels , sandwiches, sausage platters etc excellent homemade desserts- strudels and cakes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crikey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Authentic German Cusine, Charming Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've dined at The German Cafe for years and its always been an enjoyable experience! The food is delicious, the service efficient and friendly, and the restaurant atmosphere is warm with charming German decor. Their entrees, Napoleons and Apple and Cherry Strudels are incredibly good! They've made many occasions like Valentine's and Mother's Day extra special with fine touches like table decor, flowers to take home with you and party favors or candy. Once there was even a fun accordian player who took song requests. We absolutely love the place! Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vlg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding German Cuisine !!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A friend and I have eaten there many times on our visits to Wilmington, including my birthday 12/08/12. She likes the pancakes. I like the veil schnitzel. We both adore the German potato salad and the red kraut !! The service is wonderful, even on a busy Saturday night. We will eat there as often as possible !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Having lived in Germany for a while, the name of the restaurant appealed to us. We were not disappointed with the hearty and delicious German food and the German wine. Service was also good. Recommend this cafe if you love German food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MamaMooDurham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The German Cafe also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The German Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing