We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding German Cuisine !!”
Review of The German Cafe

The German Cafe
Ranked #43 of 685 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding German Cuisine !!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This was our second visit and it was as good as the first !! The veal schnitzel and the latkes were prepared and presented to perfection !! The atmosphere was quite appropriate and the wait staff were superb - we will definitely go there again during future visits to the Wlmington area !!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    52
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It's a little dark and a little cramped when very busy but the food is great and I've heard it's haunted as well. Only thing is they are closed on Mondays, make sure you call first for their hours.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jackson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, a Bit Pricey”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Nice, and convenient restaurant for lunch. The Ruben sandwich rocked, but it was $8.45 which I think was a bit much for a sandwich and a little bowl of potato salad. I also had the Bratwurst Platter. It was good too, but not as good as the Ruben. The sausage was a bit bland for my taste, but there are 3 other sausages I would try. The cherry strudel was awesome and I bought enough to take home.

The service was great the first time I went there, but the second day, they seemed a bit unorganized ( like maybe they were missing someone from the staff), but the waitresses were very friendly nonetheless.

I would recommend this place.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PWisn591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Welcome Change”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We took our son in law and three grandsons for a casual night out. We always try to avoid chain restaurants and going this place to have a very interesting feel about it. We had a table upstairs to the right. It felt more secluded and we would sit there again. I had the Rouladen Und Knodel an loved it. My son in law had the Wurst Plate and it was a winner...in fact will try that myself next time. My wife had what she thought was one of the best Reuben sandwiches ever. And we have had them at the Blackstone Hotel in Omaha where they originated. -:-)

The waitress worked with our 8 year old grandson to make a Schnizel plate for him...that he really enjoyed.

We will go back often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best German Food in the South”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have been hearing good things about the German Cafe for years, so my girlfriend and I decide to go for dinner. The atmosphere gives the impression of an old-world cottage with brick interior and authentic cuckoo clocks! The staff is very warm, inviting and prompt. The beer selection is exceptional, mmmm Spaten! We both tried the soup of the day, a beef goulash with fresh vegetables, we both loved it and the tasty home made bread served with it. I have been back a handful of times since and their fresh daily soups are always delicious. For dinner I had the Sauerbraten and my girlfriend had the Jager schnitzel. Both were very tasty and hearty along with the german potato salad and red kraut. Make sure to save some room for their home made desserts because they are out of this world! I go at least once a week now and tell everyone to visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodie72_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The German Cafe also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The German Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing