We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

On The Border Mexican Grill
Ranked #341 of 677 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Winston-Salem,NC
Level Contributor
268 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Excellent food, good service, nice outdoor eating area, very reasonable prices. Everyone in my group enjoyed their meals and it was finished off with a spectacular hot apple/ice cream dessert!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheScanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Chain”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Guacamole made at the table is excellent. Always fresh and made to our taste. Their other meals have always been above par and we have never left disappointed. One of the more consistent Mexican Chains. Good Food, Good Service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We ate here 3 or 4 times during our stay in Wilmington. They have the best fish tacos, I wouldn't even order anything else when I went. The strawberry margaritas are delicious and they had great happy hour specials.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not Mexican Food”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I am originally from New Mexico and love Mexican Food. I ordered the New Mexico dinner and it was horrible! The chilis rellenos were burnt, loaded with to much cheese and the smallest piece of chili meat I almost tasted and it wasn't even Hatch chili. The enchilada's pulled pork meat was tough and they only put about two tablespoons of green sauce over both items. Didn't eat half of my food and didn't even take the other half home. Service is good. They had us in and out in about 30 minutes, but there were almost no customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoverToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Bad food ok service”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I always thought the food here is terrible, but my husband has never been so he convince me to give it another try. The food as I remember is nothing special. Their "mexican rice" is more of a spanish rice that taste like it came out of the microwave rice packages. The service was ok. At the end of our meal my husband asked for a box and they had run out of the big carry out boxes and she brought us a small one instead that didn't fit even half of the food. I will never give it another try. There are better mexican food places in town to waste your time and money here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing