We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have a casual lunch”

Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 686 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to have a casual lunch”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I love to go to Dockside for lunch when I am in the area. There is a spectacular view of the Intracoastal. I definitely recommend sitting outside. The staff is very friendly and the food is decent. At my last visit I had the fish tacos with the daily fresh catch which was mahi mahi and they were very good. It is a nice place to have a casual, relaxing lunch, a few drinks, and to just watch the boats go by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    158
    88
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had dinner here after a day at the beach. The hostess, bartender and waitress were all very friendly. The crab dip was excellent. Great view of the water. Nice deck to have drinks on. Many more seafood options than just fried! Decent prices

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
763 reviews
513 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Go for the view and a drink (not the best food)”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the place to watch boats and let your day just slip away. I went for lunch with customer, and the food was sub par at best. Fish tacos were the special of the day, and a 5yo could have made a better taco. The tortillas were straight from the package, homemade pico was decent, but very little extra flavor at all. Had the tuna seared, but no flavor and the tuna was fresh, but stringy.

I would highly go for the view and a drink and then perhaps hit up the stand up paddle board rental place next door.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy food, Excellent view, and Consistency!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Awesome fresh fish with an immaculate view! You can dock your boat and enjoy a nice meal in the air condition or on the porch both overlooking the water. Their lunch runs until 5pm which makes a delicious fish meal very affordable. Great meal, great view, excellent, kind servers. Have visited several times (5-10) and have left happy every time. Very consistent with good service & food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyMarieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the view!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Recently ate at Dockside on a weekend trip to Wilmington. I think one's opinion of this restaurant would depend on where you're seated. We were fortunate to get a table with a great view and enjoyed our meal tremendously. I got the lunch portion of flounder and shrimp which was good. The only part of my meal that was bland was the coleslaw. It needed some flavor added. My husband enjoyed his crabcake sandwich. It was pricey for the amount of food, but we rather expect that when we go to the beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dacc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing