We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood”

Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #87 of 677 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Morganton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seafood”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was part of a large party. The wait staff did a fabulous job taking care of us. The food is your typical beach seafood restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    153
    86
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Day on the water”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived via boat from Carolina Beach on 2-15-13. I have never been and I can say I was impressed. The Staff went out of their way to help us (there was 7 of us) . The food was great! Even though it was COLD we still ate outside under their enclosed canapy. We all left with Dockside Hoodies for the cold ride back !!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I both got their fried shrimp. It was medium sized shrimp, the batter was really thick and not fried enough for us. It left a slimey film between the fried batter and the shrimp... rather mushy. At $14 a platter, I was ticked... both of us left more than half on our plates. I ordered a Sam Adams draft... it tasted like the lines were dirty... didn't taste right. The outdoor table legs look like they're made from PVC pipe.. ours was wobbly.. cheap plastic chairs. The tables are very close together, the group of 3 next to us was swearing alot, loudly... ignoring that they were sitting next to children. We're not planning on returning. Only pros.. our kids meals were good... a corn dog and chicken tenders.. and the view is good... It would be a good place to go for drinks... but I would stick with bottles!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mindyeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, north carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“food quality reduces value of the view”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a shame, such a great location/view, but the food - lunch or dinner - is beyond hit and miss to 70/30% disappointing - even something as simple as a burger is disappointing as their buns fall apart after one bite.

Don't go for the food and you'll be fine, but what a waste of key real estate and we've tried many times at diff. times/days of the week.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvfood344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We live right down the street from Dockside and are there quite a bit. The waterfront view is fantastic and the crowd is always a lot of fun. They always have good drink specials. It's a great place for brunch. The bar items are all very good, but the entrees are sometimes hit and miss. Make sure you ask what is fresh and local before ordering fish or oysters. Otherwise, it's a great place to park your boat, eat, drink, and hang out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnF506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wrightsville Beach, NC
Wrightsville Beach, NC
 

Been to Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing