We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ambiance, good staff, food okay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elijah's Restaurant

Elijah's Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, good staff, food okay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My title says it all. The best thing about this place is its ambiance. It's a cool place to sit in and look around. In nice weather, the outdoor seating is great because it looks out onto the river and the boardwalk, so it's great to people-watch as well. Elijah's is huge.

The staff has always been rather pleasant and attentive. In some restaurants, the staff act as if you're a bother and a pain. I don't see that here, even when they have to tend to the masses, which can at times be assses (I'm a poet).

However, I only find the food okay. I can't put my finger on it. It just tastes plain. They over-cook the burgers. The seafood doesn't taste delicious. Most restaurants say that they have to cook out the flavor of burgers for legal restaurants, but other restaurants see how icky this is and cook them right anyway, and they never seem to be sued.

All in all, Elijah's is a classic and a "must go to" if you're visiting Wilmington. Elijah's IS Wilmington, to some extent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    313
    153
    65
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My Personal Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We been going to Elijah's for 20 plus years. Not been disappointed ! The river view ( inside dinning or outside ) is great. The wait staff is very attentive, well trained and knowledgeable.
The food is a blend of seafood & land based critters ... both are well prepared and presented.
The restaurant is very warn and "cozy".
We usually take out-of-town visitors here; if the beach is a rainout.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Herbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great regional favorites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Try the crab dip! Excellent! Great fresh fish. I love this place. Great scenery, on the river! I always try to go when I'm in Wilmington.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hshatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great River View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Sits on the Cape Fear River with indoor dining room oyster bar and outdoor patio seating next to the riverwalk. The best crab dip anywhere. Had a wedding shower for my daughter there and the service and food were excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Unique setting, tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Elijah's has a very interesting history, as does most of historic Wilmington. This history is evident in the beautiful model ships and nautical paintings scattered throughout the restaurant. My mom and I stopped in on a rather dreary and chilly night, but despite the lame weather decided to dine on the heated terrace so we could have a view of the Cape Fear River. Our server was very sweet, but took a little longer than we would have liked to refill our glasses and return the check, which is the only complaint I could find for the entire evening. Good food, beautiful setting...make sure to check it out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elijah's Restaurant also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Elijah's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing