We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to love it...”

Paddy's Hollow Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #37 of 686 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I wanted to love it...”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Only had a few days in town, we all agreed we wanted to try this cute place. In a great area, hidden and neat decor. When you walk in you're excited to eat here, but then you realize the staff doesn't seem to care if you do or not. Super slow service, our waitress was terrible. She was sitting down eating and we waited close to 10 mins to get refills. When she finally decided to check on us, she still didn't notice we had no drinks. She forgot part of my food but billed us for it, dropped the tray of food and my husbands fell off and he had to wait another 20 mins. They offered free dessert "on the house", but when we ordered 3 desserts (for 4 people) she quickly let us know that only ONE was free. Hot fudge sundae was bad, the fudge was cold and was just a sweet mess. The good: fried shrimp was very good, chicken sandwich was good, ribs were average. The bad: steak was tiny, overpriced, super dry and overcooked.

This place could be so much better and its sad that the owners are suffering from a few simple fixes. It's in the busiest part of town, cute place. They need a better cook and friendlier staff who care if people come back. When we spend over $100 for 4 people to eat, it should be better than average.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    82
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant and pub”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Good beer list. And really rather decent food for a pub. Actually, it is difficult to know whether it is more of a restaurant or a pub. It tries to be both, and does a pretty good job at it. I usually eat at least one meal there when I'm in town staying at the Hilton across the street down by the river.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrianAtTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and good atmosphere”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We came across Paddy's while at the Cotton Exchange and decided to try it based on the atmosphere. We were not disappointed.

The steak sandwich was great and the smothered chicken was good comfort food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank statsgirlewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I ate there two nights”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Steaks are the best. Nice place to unwind, and go back in time. Love the service and how they took care of you. worth going out of the way to eat here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwigCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply Yummy!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

While visiting the area last month we stumbled upon Paddy's Hollow for lunch. We had such a delicious meal and loved the atmosphere. We took my 90 year old Dad, who is tough to please and he raved over the potato soup!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariann Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddy's Hollow Restaurant and Pub also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Paddy's Hollow Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing