We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great New Addition” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chipotle Mexican Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chipotle Mexican Grill
Ranked #450 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
444 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Great New Addition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having eaten at this chain in other cities, it was delightful to have one now in Wilmington. As expected, the food was typical for the chain and as fresh, delicious and comforting as could be.

I choose the burrito with shredded beef and a variety of additions. All quality ingredients, prepared quickly but with attention to detail.

Good option for fast food in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fast and good Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Food is really fresh and of good quality. It's fast too. A bit pricey as everything is ala carte, but it is really good. I heard the chips ate good, but they were out the day I went :(

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sicilianprincess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Removed food from taco after serving .....really”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

So to agree that the line was wrapped around the inside at 6pm tonight, as well it should be seeing how its the "new place" in town and located right next to the Whole Foods. I will agree it moved faster than expected, but when it was our turn to order we were greeted with a bland "what will you have" and the cafeteria style portion slop began.... and quite honestly went downhill from there.

The kid in charge of putting the meats and beans onto the taco literally put a spoonful of meat onto the tortilla and then..... removed half of it over a 10 second period..... because they obviously have some sort of meat shortage going on at Chipotle. Then piece by piece he proceeded to put it back into the serving bowl for the next customer.

He did it with the steak, counting out the "chunks" and with the pork, piece by piece like there was a magical scale located underneath the paper liner on the counter...No joke. And to make it even better, when I brought it to the only adult in the joint (Spoiler Alert !!!! .... turned out to be the manager) she said "ohhh well".

Never ever will I set foot in this place again. Oh did I mention it was $11 for the skimpy tacos, stale day old paper bagged chips and a 20 ounce drink????

It is a sad sad day when Taco Bell spanks you in Americanized Mexican Food. Moes is like the Ritz Carlton compared to Chipotle.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average American Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Upon arrival during lunch hour on a Thursday and remembering that this place just opened a week ago, I thought the line that wrapped around inside was going to take forever. They move you through very quickly and I commend them for putting the "fast" in the "fast food". This place is clean even with the number of guests eating (all tables filled), leaving and quickly replaced by more guests. The staff did a great job of turning things over. I ordered a burrito with brown rice, pinto beans, salsa verde, sour cream, cheese and lettuce, chips and guac. My first impression of my meal was that everything looked very pleasing. But it pretty much stops there. I don't know if I am seasoned to the likes of our local Flaming Amy's Barn and Moe's or not but Chipotle's is just plan old bland and very disappointing. It's akin to going to, say, a wood fired pizza joint and ordering a cheese pizza when the menu is full of flavorful gourmet ingredients. The only flavor I found in my meal today was from the tobasco sauce I had to pour all over it. If you like plain cheese pizza, you'll dig Chipotle. It's not a bad meal by any means but it is about as plain American as you can get. I think they forgot the tex and the mex. Sorry Chipotle but I would think you could do better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PJewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsail Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I waited in line FOREVER for the best soft tacos in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I eat at several different Chipotles within NC as I travel for business. Ive been waiting on this one to open for almost a year because I live in Wilmington. The weekend after they opened I took my wife and 3 and 4 year old. The line was all tthe way wrapped around the inside of the restaurant to the front door....took about 30 mins before I go to the counter. This was my wifes first meal (kids too) at Chipotle and she is a huge Mexican food fan. She claims its her new favirote food fix and even asked to go back the day after! If you are new to chipotle I would highly suggest the soft or hard tacos. Each order comes with 3 tacos and you can choose the meat you want. Get 1 meat of each (there is actually 4 different meats) this way you can choose which you like best. I was hooked on the Barbacoa but then found the recipe from a worker at a different location and make that at home. Steak is now my fav. If you take your kids and they are young be sure to get a cheese quesadilla, nothing with meat. The steak and chicken has a little kick to it and neither of my kids would eat their chicken queso because it was too spicy for them. They both loved the white rice and chips though. This will be a regular weekend stop for us from here on out. I can drink their honey vinagrette by the gallon....its the new Franks Red Hot, I can put that stuff on everything!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravisTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chipotle Mexican Grill also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Chipotle Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing