We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Wilmington”
Review of Plaza Mariachi

Plaza Mariachi
Ranked #253 of 678 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in Wilmington”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My absolute favorite Mexican restaurant in Wilmington! The salsa and chips are great, just enough kick in the salsa. The food is excellent and the staff are always attentive and courteous.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachmedic93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican, friendly place!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

In two years we have eaten at Plaza Mariachi at least twice a month because as transplanted Californians we really missed real (not salty) Mexican food! La Costa is also good, but this may be the most authentic with fresh made (by them) tamales and chiles poblanos where the chilis are fresh and not mush! The picadillo and chicken always taste like just cooked. Think we will go there tomorrow!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TreyMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I enjoy every time I eat here. The wait staff is incredible and always on point. They are super friendly and always say thank you. The prices are great as is the food, and they have drink specials throughout the week. Giant cold beer, and tasty margaritas. I love this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stepsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Four of us stopped in for a quick meal. Chips were immediately brought to on table. Their salsa is good but not my favorite. It was watery and seemed to be more of a purée of tomatoes from a can with a few seasonings rather than a nice, thick homemade salsa. I ordered the Burrito California with steak. It had a decent flavor but some of the steak was stringy and tough. My husband had the pollo chorizo and he loved it. It was a huge flattened chicken breast with chorizo on top. Since he is a chorizo fan, this was perfect for him. My son ordered off the kids menu. They had a nice variety of choices for kids. My nephew had a burrito with chicken, steak and shrimp. He seemed to enjoy it. The big value was $1.49 for any draft beer on Saturday. If you are looking for cheap beer and a decent meal this may be the place for you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The waiters are always on their toes( they seem to never miss a beat), the food is always really good. I'm talking you went to mexico and someones grandmother cooked for you type of good. not taco bell, you wanted mexican and got the dollar menu "good". The owner helps the waiters and even waits tables himself. It's even got lovely decor but if you are bigger around the middle be careful when you get off the benches, some of then have a tenancy to move a tad.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Mariachi also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Plaza Mariachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing