We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Snack”

Shuckin Shack Oyster Bar
Ranked #101 of 678 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Afternoon Snack”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

While visiting my daughter and family we went for a late afternoon snack. Due to some rather inconsiderate patrons we were forced to go elsewhere. Several days later we visited again, they remembered us immediately and were very apologetic. Our waitress went on to explain how she let the inconsiderate ones know that they are a family oriented establishment and their attitudes were unacceptable. They informed her they would not be back, her reply was " mission accomplished". Great little family place, genuine friendly, and the snacks were great. Hush Puppies, Peel & Eats, and Crab Legs.

Looking forward to our next visit!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    52
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lobster rolls!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

little hole in the wall but the best lobster rolls! can't speak for anything else because we always go straight for lobster rolls!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great seafood!!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

This place is exactly what says in the name, Shack and Bar, the place is clean and feels "beachy" in the downtown area. The service was great, the food fantastic and just the atmosphere my wife were looking for, the only thing missing was sand in my shoes! I will eat there again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
292 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Great bar and seafood”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Now, don't get your knickers in a twist. This place is pretty much a zero when it comes to decor. So why go? The beer selection is very good. But what makes it is the FRESH, well-prepared seafood. If you want fancy preparation, this isn't for you. If you want to slurp down some great oysters on the half-shell, have a reasonably priced Maine lobster, fried shrimp, etc., this is a great place. There are very few tables. You may well find yourself eating at the bar. For this reason, the place isn't so great for groups. Just know that if you go, you will get good brew and food for a very reasonable price. It's the kind of place that if you're on your own, you'll feel just fine in there, especially sitting at the bar. And if there aren't folks who seem to want to chat, you can always watch the games on the multiple TV screens. The place really shines in winter which is when most seafood is at its best.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrianAtTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy Lunch at the Shuckin Shack”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Ate here for lunch during summer break. Service was quick, and food was good. I ordered the fish tacos, very yummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuckin Shack Oyster Bar also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Shuckin Shack Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing