We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely building full of character!”

The Cotton Exchange
Ranked #18 of 109 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely building full of character!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

A very interesting building, full of interesting little shops, from jewelery to sweets! It was easy to get lost inside. Being from England I love the brick building with the cobbled stones and the archways - full of character.. I didn't really see too much I wanted to buy but it was fun to browse. We went off season so parking was easy and it was fairly quiet. Not suitable for wheelchairs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank janetsplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    53
    23
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Treat in Wilmington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Cotton Exchange is a fabulous use of an old historic space. The shops are interesting in a rabbit warren kind of arrangement; delights around every corner. Lots of little passages and open areas as well as eateries for refreshment. You could spend many hours here! It was also nice to find free off-street parking in downtown Wilmington.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bestnanaever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I loved the Cotton Exchange. You could almost get lost walking around through the shops but it was so much fun. There are so really cute stores throughout the mall. I didn't spend a lot of time there but would like to go back if ever I return to Wilmington.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
471 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Interesting collection of shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice mix of local artisans and eateries. Depending on how much you like to shop, could take a bit of time. Directly across from the Riverwalk

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank debbieinsc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Bit of a disappointment, expected more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Took a day trip to Wilmington with the Cotton Exchange in mind. It is a blend of shops and eateries, but a disappointment. I expected more shops and most shops were arts and crafts type shops, not our cup of tea. Thankfully there was a festival going on behind the exchange with a lot of vendors set up so we spent a little more time there than we would have had we only gone to the exchange. We went through the exchange in less than an hour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danh234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cotton Exchange also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Cotton Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing