We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turned Business to Pleasure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2009

After a lot of nights in typical business hotels I decided having Wilmington as part of my territory was a great excuse to mix work with a little vacation ambiance. One stay at Camellia Cottage and I've become a regular. The innkeepers are wonderful folks—they're hospitable and available without being overbearing (a negative at some B&Bs I've experienced). Breakfast is always a gourmet experience with Paula in the kitchen (she's a bonafide pastry chef). I've stayed in all the rooms—the biggest is on the main floor and doesn't require using steps—and my favorite has become "my bedroom" away from home. There's great dining on the waterfront a short walk away. A glass of wine on the porch overlooking the garden front yard is the perfect end to a work day. It's nice to be able to look forward to a business trip—and I'm planning a leisure trip there soon with my family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepperpupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 310 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2009

LOVE this B&B! Owners Paula and Steven were great--provided history of the home, suggested fun things to do and were always pleasant. Breakfasts were scrumptous! 1st day we had a mushroom-asparagus omlet (yum) and the 2nd day we had pecan pancakes (double yum!). Loved the girly "Jane's Room." Lovely experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I spent one night in Jane's Room and three nights in The Crane Suite. Both are beautifully decorated and comfortable. The entire home is lovely and within easy walking of a lively and colorful waterfront. Innkeepers Paula and Steve are very knowledgeable and were always accessible to provide assistance. Sparky was always welcoming with his wagging tail and friendly demeanor. The rooms have wonderful old windows with great views of the historic neighborhood. Highlights of my visit were Paula's breakfasts and afternoon wine and cheese on the front porch and Steve's eclectic gardens that surround the house. All visitors should take time to follow the path around and look for the many surprises within the foliage.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calico76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

I was quite disappointed with my stay at Camellia Cottage. The house and gardens are beautiful, but the room I stayed was only superficially clean. The attention to details, in particular the floor and carpets, was lacking. Breakfast that was served on the first day was burned and almost inedible. Breakfast served on the other days was passable, but by no means wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank NJL513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Stayed at the Camellia Cottage for the weekend in the Crane room. Room was lovely--had a huge bathroom/sunroom. Also loved the giant hammock on the front deck (though be aware that the hammock is in front of a giant window in the Crane room).

Location was within easy walking distance of the center of downtown.

Breakfasts were amazing--be prepared for a mult-course feast!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank grinwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Camellia Cottage is in an excellent location for historic Wilmington NC. The hosts are very nice and welcoming. Our disappointment was that the bathroom was not clean. We couldn't believe it. The mirror was dirty, there was crud around the faucet, and i won't get graphic, but the toilet was dirty. The carpet in the room obviously needed vaccuming. So disappointing as we were paying more than a hotel would have cost to stay there. They serve mainly sweets for breakfast. Oh well, live an learn.

Stayed: March 2008
5  Thank RitaBookwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We discovered this place two years ago. We were looking for a pet-friendly place to stay in Wilmington, and we got way more than we bargained. Paula and Steve, along with the house dog, Sparky, have made all four of our visits to this B&B the best. We have stayed in all the rooms except for Jane's Room. The Crane Suite's bathroom is massive and way more than expected. We stayed in Henry's Room last week on our visit to Wilmington, and this room has become our favorites. Tuscany Room was ours for two of the four visits, and we enjoyed it as well. Be prepared for a three-course breakfast and great conversation around the breakfast table. Great atmosphere, great innkeepers, and just one of the best places on the planet!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank svengteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
1,462 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
6.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.3 mi away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#4 of 18 in Wilmington
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riverwalk
Hotel Riverwalk
#3 of 18 in Wilmington
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 118 S 4th St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4569
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $145 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to artist Henry MacMillan, The Camellia Cottage is a high-peaked, Queen Anne shingle house featuring four guest rooms. A long veranda, painted by a local artist, provides a view of the lush garden of azaleas, magnolias, ferns and camellias. Here, great food, gracious service and a friendly atmosphere make for a relaxing guest experience. Greet each morning with coffee at your door and a sumptuous breakfast of fruit, homemade pastries and entree. Paula’s stint as a hotel pastry chef ensures a delightful dining experience. The Crane Suite features an ornate, metal bed, carved fireplace and vibrant color. Formerly the sun room, the bath and dressing area is filled with lush tropical plants. Henry’s Room, featuring a canopy bed and fireplace, reflects the stateliness found in two of Henry’s paintings hanging in the house. Jane’s Room is named after Henry’s mother and features floral designs and vintage photos complementing the four-post bed and fireplace. In the Tuscany Room, the golden glow of the walls and large windows make you think you’re in an Italian villa. Enjoy the fireplace from the whimsical iron bed or soak in the claw-foot tub with a glass of Chianti. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing