We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favorite B & B”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This beautiful historic home in the heart of Wilmington is lovingly maintained by Paula and Steven. They are unequaled in their hospitality and Paula is a terrific cook. All is pristine and the beds are comfy. The front porch is magazine pretty and the hosts know the best places to eat and drink whatever including pooch friendly cafes. This is my only destination when visiting Wilmington as it is for the business man from London who was at yesterday's breakfast. Paula and Steven treat everyone as a special guest. It is a perfect destination.

Room Tip: There is one room on the main level for anyone having difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    24
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
212
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a wonderful B & B. Paula and Steve make you feel like you are staying with old friends. The rooms are beautiful and immaculate. Bed is comfortable. Paula's breakfest is outstanding. And such a nice touch, she puts coffee outside your room by 7:30. The location is great for visiting all the great resturants downtown.

Room Tip: Some rooms have shower in old time claw foot tub, some have walk in showers - ask Paula for your pre...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystravel_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Paula and Steve run an incredible B&B here in historic Wilmington. The accomodations are top notch the food even better. For me best is that I can have my beautiful 8 month old puppy Jer'ne with me and she is treated as part of the family!
You cant beat the location the wonderful hosts in such a beautiful city!!
What are you waiting for give them a call get on the calendar! I know I will be doing so before I leave the premises!!

Thanks Paula and Steve your the best

Pam K

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I'm not going to go on with some long-winded prose. My wife and I have reasonable judgement, experience, and expectations. We just returned from our first stay, and we won't be staying anywhere else whenever we return to Wilmington.
- Location: 5 minute walk or 8 minute stroll to market street near the water, the heart of the historic district. On a lovely, quiet, vintage brick street lined with spanish-moss-adorned live oaks.
- Parking: Don't worry. Park on the street right out front. We were there during the UNC Wilmington graduation weekend, and half the block was empty.
- Room: Just spring for the extra few dollars and treat yourself to the Cypress Suite. You'll have a private entrance flanked by transcendentally fragrant jasmine, and the place is so big it'll feel like you're coming home. Very uncommon for a historic B&B. Kitchen, laundry, living room (with sofa bed), lovely bedroom, and bath with clawfoot tub/shower. You even have your own front gate, although you don't have to use it, as a mulch path leads around to the main entrance.
- Food: Spectacular and beautifully presented. Breakfast is measured in courses and flexibly timed (eat any time it's available).
- Atmosphere: Eclectic and charming, proper yet informal (which is why we steered away from the Graystone). Steve and Paula are warm proprietors. The gardens are lush yet tidy (and did I mention fragrant?). Even if you have animal allergies (which I do), don't worry about the house dog. She's quiet and either doesn't shed or Steve & Paula are fastidiously clean, probably both.
- Service: Hotel quality, rooms are promptly serviced, all details attended to, including filling and setting the coffee maker for us to wake up to the smell of morning java (a nice surprise). Steve and Paula live on the premises, so the issues of absentee hosts don't exist.

Unless you demand residence ON the beach, I'd love to hear why on Earth anyone would want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: (See above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Camellia Cottage innkeepers, Steve and Paula, remind me of the song "A House is Not a Home." The lyrics say "A chair is still a chair even when there's no one sitting there. But a chair is not a house, and a house is not a home when there's no one there to hold you tight, and no one there you can kiss goodnight." The experience of staying in this lovely home with these gracious innkeepers meeting your every need makes you feel like you have come home. The lovingly prepared breakfasts inspire even the non-cook to dabble in the kitchen when they get home. My dog will be jealous of Sparky, the dog, when she hears there's some competition for my heart. Steve was eager to share information about furnishings in the house, and Paula...How can you not love this warm vivacious lady?!!! You will want to never leave Camellia Cottage, truly your home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, CT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Camellia Cottage New Years Eve (2012-2013). My husband and I frequent B&B's and, since I am vegan, I am used to the routine of having to call around before booking to make sure they can accomodate me. Paula, being a pastry chef, was not only willing but clearly excited for the "challenge."

We stayed in The Henry Room; upon check-in we were greeted with dark chocolate bark on one of the night stands. The artwork in the room was refreshing yet classic and we enjoyed the modern touch of having a TV in the room. Normally this isn't something we'd care about, but being New Years Eve we liked being able to watch the ball drop in the comfort of our own beautiful suite. Something I also enjoyed (that others may turn their nose up at) was the all-in-one soap offered in the rooms; it was all-natural, akin to a Dr. Bronner's all-purpose castile soap. I can appreciate the fact that a large multi-use container is much more eco-friendly than those tiny hotel soaps wrapped in paper or bottled in plastic (I can feel my husband rolling his eyes as I write this).

Breakfast was wonderful - rather than a massive bowl of oatmeal or a pound of fruit salad (the standard "vegan" fare at some other B&Bs) I was served a vegan version of what everyone else enjoyed - pumpkin french toast, fruit salad & [soy] sausage. Paula even whipped up a vegan version of a special New Years breakfast dessert, a fudgey chocolate cake.

Breakfast conversation with the couple and other guests was natural and light, not forced or weird as is sometimes the case at B&Bs. Steve explained to us that Paula was a pastry chef and social worker, so these two passions kind of combined to make this perfect B&B innkeeper. The couple's rescued dog, Sparky, was also a nice touch..he enjoyed hanging out under the table during breakfast, making a pretty warm foot rest :)

Location wise, downtown Water St was about 3-4 blocks away, which is nothing on a beautiful day! A quick Expedia search of hotels in the downtown area shows an average nightly rate of $130-170- and that is without the grand breakfast, pet-friendliness, personality and charm of Camellia Cottage. I have 4 words for you hotel-seekers on the fence about cost: claw-foot tub and fireplace.

We can't to stay here again.. and again and again. Just perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danielle786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This bed and breakfast in the heart of historic Wilmington is beautifully maintained. Each room features interesting antiques with unexpected modern amenities. Steven and Paula are hospitable innkeepers who are totally gracious in sharing their property. The gardens are lovely and provide a peaceful setting to relax after strolling the historic district. This B&B is a pet-friendly place to stay and is a good value for the money.

All those accolades being said, there were things I did not fine appealing. 1. In an older home that serves as a B&B, do not expect privacy. You'll hear everything your neighbors are up to. 2. There is no coffee available until at least 7am, so bring your own pot if you want something earlier, 3. Even though the breakfast is well-done, I found it to be too sweet. Who offers a dessert of pistachio ice-cream after breakfast! No thanks! 4. Don't expect a late checkout. You'll be able to leave your things in a downstairs hallway, but there is no locked storage for your valuables if you need to leave them there past check out. I'd be delighted to stay there again. It's a refreshing change from chain hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCProfesora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.1 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#21 of 44 in Wilmington
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 118 S 4th St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4569
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to artist Henry MacMillan, The Camellia Cottage is a high-peaked, Queen Anne shingle house featuring four guest rooms. A long veranda, painted by a local artist, provides a view of the lush garden of azaleas, magnolias, ferns and camellias. Here, great food, gracious service and a friendly atmosphere make for a relaxing guest experience. Greet each morning with coffee at your door and a sumptuous breakfast of fruit, homemade pastries and entree. Paula’s stint as a hotel pastry chef ensures a delightful dining experience. The Crane Suite features an ornate, metal bed, carved fireplace and vibrant color. Formerly the sun room, the bath and dressing area is filled with lush tropical plants. Henry’s Room, featuring a canopy bed and fireplace, reflects the stateliness found in two of Henry’s paintings hanging in the house. Jane’s Room is named after Henry’s mother and features floral designs and vintage photos complementing the four-post bed and fireplace. In the Tuscany Room, the golden glow of the walls and large windows make you think you’re in an Italian villa. Enjoy the fireplace from the whimsical iron bed or soak in the claw-foot tub with a glass of Chianti. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing