We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ranger spoiled a good golf course”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beau Rivage Golf & Resort
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Was playing in an amateur golf event sponsored by Golfweek. As such, we must adhere to the rules (e.g. we can't just drop when we go OB). We naturally play slower than a casual round. Not justifable to the ranger. He was so much of a pain in the butt, I quit after 9 holes (1st time ever in my golfing history).

So, if you hate slow play, you will like this review. But, if you paid an entry fee to play in a tournament at this course, would you not wonder at the integrity of the management of the staff?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank paulobry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaumarketing, Manager at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort. All of our guest feedback is truly appreciated. As a family-run establishment, we take a lot of pride in our hospitality (especially when addressing sensitive issues like pace of play) and want everyone to enjoy their time on the golf course. The integrity of our management staff is reflected by the enforcement of a pace of play policy that benefits all players on the course, but making someone feel uncomfortable in the process is never the intention. We apologize if one of our Course Ambassadors ruined your round last summer. We hope that you give Beau Rivage "another shot" so we can show you that customer satisfaction is always our top priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 267 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

A great location for a golf trip and a great value. Golf course is well maintained and a nice layout, lots of blind shots. I would say the rooms are very, very clean, no bugs or anything like that.The owner is in the process of updating the furniture. Some of it is dated but beds are comfortable. All of the restaurant staff and pro shop people were very customer friendly and would go out of their way to make sure you were having a nice stay. We were a foursome and had all three meals there every day, very good food, not fancy but well prepared.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarylandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaumarketing, Manager at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Beau Rivage and write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future. As you may know we are in the process of renovating/upgrading our rooms and guest amenities. We guarantee you will be even more comfortable on your next trip to the Beau!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I had a two night stay here. The rooms were spacious (bedroom with queen and twin bed and a living room) and a very large bathroom. It is not a fancy place but very comfortable. Somewhat outdated but for the money, was adequate. We played two rounds of golf and enjoyed both the condition and layout of the course. The greens are very fast!! Breakfast was included as part of our stay. We ate lunch both days in the small bar/restaurant. Again, while nothing is fancy, the food was all fresh and fixed just right right. During our stay, the bar closed at 8:00 so as there are no ice machines or vending machines on the premises, you have to get ice from the bar before they close.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cary_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara O, Director of Sales at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again. As you may know we are in the process of completely upgrading our rooms. We are certain you will be even more comfortable on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A group from our subdivision in Central North Carolina go to Beau Rivage at least once a year to play golf for 3 days. We have never been disappointed. Went Oct. 16-18 and had another great time. There were 3 couples and 2 single ladies. This is our second stay this year.

The golf course is always a challenge. It is in great shape. The traps were well taken care of, the greens were impeccable and very fast, and fairways had good grass. I love #4 - par 3 over a pond. I haven't yet seen the alligator, although almost everyone else has at one time or another.

The rooms are almost an apartment (LR, BR, bath) and need some upgrading and some general repairs; however everything was clean. The tv was a new flat screen. You could have a dance in the bathroom (it is large with a double vanity). Plenty of room. Some packages include breakfast, some don't. Breakfast is always good and you have quite a good variety. French fries I had with a sandwich for lunch were some of the best I've had anywhere. Beau Rivage is close to Carolina Beach and Kure Beach and not far from Wilmington so there are lots of restaurants to choose from.

The bar is open until 8:00 pm so get your ice before then.
Everyone on the staff has always been friendly, helpful, and polite. We will plan another visit in the spring.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara O, Director of Sales at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you Suzie for taking the time to write a review. We are so very pleased that your group enjoyed your stay. As you may know we are presently upgrading our suites. This includes new bedding, new window valences, flat-screen TV's and more. I must admit, the fries at the Veranda Grill are my favorite as well. We look forward to your next stay at Beau Rivage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I just stayed at Beau Rivage with my son and nephew in law. I booked it and truly was expecting an "OK" golf course per the reviews that I read. I am a 3 handi-cap and enjoy well conditioned and maintained courses. My son just started playing again this year after a 5 year hiatus due to military duties. My nephew in law is a 10 handi-cap and loves to play as well.

I must say that the greens were far and away the best bermuda greens I have ever played on. They were running about 11.5 to 12 on the stemp and were as pure as the driven snow. That, in and of itself, would generally make me happy. The fairways were in good shape (I would give them an 8 out of 10).

We started playing on Thursday and the traps had not been raked by the machine for awhile. Same on Friday but on Saturday they were raked.

I had the privilege of speaking with the asst. superintendent and he said a new super had been hired about a year ago and was responsible for the "new" condition of the course.

The only draw back as mentioned in other posts is the construction that has sprung up right on top of the course. On one par five my son literally had to aim over the top of an apartment building to keep the ball in play due to his length off the tee.

As for the rooms I am definitely glad they are being refurbished as they did leave a lot to be desired.

There are no ice machines to access for the guests. We returned from a late dinner and wanted a night cap. It was 9:45 and the bar, which is the only place you can get ice, was closed. Hopefully with the renovations they will add an ice machine on each side of the hotel to further accomodate the guests.

The staff was friendly and the starters were great. Did not hear a southern accent the entire time!

Overall a great place for a guys golf trip. The course is fun to play and doesn't beat you up but it does have some pretty challenging par 3's from the tips.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deck1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara O, Director of Sales at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for your response. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed playing the course. As you know we are diligently working on upgrading our suites as well as addressing our guests requests. We want you to be able to kick back and enjoy a night cap in a newly renovated suite on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Beau Rivage looks like right out of a movie, fresh paint on white wood where your whole family may have gone to the beach and stayed at in the 60's. The large living room with sleeper couch, the huge double-sink'd bathroom like the vanity you used to have. And then the bedroom with 2 queen beds. There is a microwave and refridge, but no stove. They say they have a restaurant but it's more like the 'stand' at the golf and country club; which this is. The surrounding grounds are impecible! While the building and pool have not been updated, they have absolutely been taken grand care of. Then, some developer came and built a circle of homes around the property which are new and fancy; it makes for a real safe feeling. I won't go back because it's just old and kinda musty and the old tv took like 3 seconds to change channels and there was no TV in the bedroom. While it's not my kind of place, it is an extrememly inexpensive charming place for a group of guys to go play golf. BTW, it's a motel, I couldn't tell that by the picture.

Room Tip: It's close to Carolina Beach and lots of great restaurants on Carolina beach hwy; it's consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chattacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara O, Director of Sales at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you fo sharing your thoughts with us. The suites are presently being upgraded.This includes new bedding, new window valences, flat-screen TV's and more. These upgrades, along with the amount of space in each suite and the picturesque views of the golf course, will make accommodations at Beau Rivage much more to your satisfaction in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Only played golf here this past weekend but it was excellent. Challenging course that has a good mix of easy, intermediate, and hard holes. Worth the $2 extra for the GPS. Hit them straight ! Everyone was extremely nice, especially the starters both Saturday and Sunday mornings !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bradley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeauRivageGolf, Owner at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you Bradley for taking time to write a review on our Golf Course! Thank you for recognizing our staff members! We can't thank them enough for providing the best in customer service! We hope that you will come back and see us again in the near future! Barry Eagle, Owner-Crown Hotel & Travel Mgt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
9.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
9.2 mi away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#26 of 45 in Wilmington
230 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
6.4 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau Rivage Golf & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Rivage Golf & Resort

Address: 649 Rivage Promenade, Wilmington, NC 28412-2757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $79 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beau Rivage Golf & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few things are more synonymous with incredible Golf than “North Carolina” and no other Coastal Carolina resort is more in-tune with the Group Stay & Play than Beau Rivage Golf and Resort. Rare for a golf course along the coast, several holes on the par 72 layout offer 40 to 75 feet elevation changes. Framed by Carolina Pine hardwoods, Members, Guests and Groups play the “Beau” for its plush Bermuda fairways and silky-smooth greens. The elevated and contoured greens are planted with TifEagle, an ultra-dwarf bermudagrass that thrives near the coast and they roll pure like a cue ball in a bathtub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beau Rivage Golf & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Resort And Golf Club
Beau Rivage Resort & Golf Club Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing