We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Roko Italian Cuisine
Ranked #41 of 686 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Roko Italian Cuisine is a traditional italian restaurant located in the heart of Wilmington's Mayfaire Town Center. Owners Jadran and Vojka encourage you to come in, relax, share stories and enjoy the warm and friendly service, as they prepare the finest Italian cuisine especially for you. Roko's menu features a selection of salads, pasta, veal, beef, seafood, and chicken dishes.
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

great food, great atmosphere, great service, second vist, fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere, fantastic service, authentic italian, cant wait for my third visit

Helpful?
Thank firesheet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roko P, Owner at Roko Italian Cuisine, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are eager to welcome you back for your third visit! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    64
    24
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good, friendly hosts”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nice Italian restaurant. Located in a mall-like area away from the downtown district. Had dinner on a recent Saturday night. The place was full and they seated us at our reserved time. The host, who I assumed to be one of the owners, came by our table and seemed genuinely glad to have us in the restaurant. All of our food was very good from a fish special to a veal dish to pasta and eggplant parm. Very reasonable prices. The pace of service was very nice, not too rushed, not too slow even on a busy Saturday night. Easily the best meal we had in Wilmington.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Place for Great Food!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went for dinner at this new restaurant. It is in a high end strip mall near our home. Don't let the strip mall location put you off, this is a great spot! Its a little hard to find look in the far left side of the buildings on the side road that runs along side the complex.

The service was excellent, plenty of staff and everyone chipped in to give us a great experience.

The food was excellent! A little warning, it is very rich. If you like rich you will be very happy, if not, most likely less. We had dinner and desert which was off the charts good.

The price was in the upper end but not too steep for Wilmington. In Wilmington we get over priced so so food, with OK service. This is the unfortunate norm, not so with Roko. Prices were in the $18 to $22 range, there were less expensive items on the menue. They had a $25 special which included wine and a number of courses, we thought this was a fair deal!

Try it you will like it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovinithereinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roko P, Owner at Roko Italian Cuisine, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thanks for dining with us! It sounds like you enjoyed our Wilmington Restaurant Week special! We appreciate your comments about our servers and our fair prices. We work hard to rise above "the norm" at our family restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not their best performance”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had reservations at 7:30, and to our horror, they were out of Jack Daniel's. To compound this unforgiveable oversight, 3 of our party who ordered the ceasar salad were told that they were out of ceasar dressing. The cooks among us said it would not be a big thing to make some more, but... In their defense, the house salad and the spinach salad were marvelous. Further, they were short on gluten-free pasta, despite an intriguing gluten-free menu. The flounder Ana got rave reviews, and as always, the service was outstanding. They can do better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roko P, Owner at Roko Italian Cuisine, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Welchboy, we appreciate your return visit and another honest review! Sorry to disappoint on the Jack Daniel's, we just picked some up today, you will have to come back to enjoy the Tennessee favorite. As you know, we are just a small family business and Jadran is in the back cooking all of the meals. While it may be easy for some restaurants to whip up some more Caesar dressing it is hard for Jadran to halt cooking fresh fish and veal for all of our guests in order to make his secret family recipe Caesar dressing. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We have had several friends tell us about Roko so we decided to give it a try. And we're glad we did. It's small but elegant yet not pricey. Linen table cloths and napkins add an extra bit of class. Small bar area but a very good selection of wines. The menu will please any pallet with a large selection of pasta, chicken, veal and fish entrees. I was a little disappointed in the calamari, it was a bit bland but not over cooked or rubbery. My wife had the Roko shrimp scampi which had a brown scampi sauce instead of the usual butter and garlic sauce. It was then finished with a layer of Italian cheeses. The shrimp was prepared to perfection. I had the veal Marsala and you could cut it with a fork. Both meals came with baby snow peas and sautéed potatoes. The service was prompt and friendly and our waiter answered all of our knowledgeably. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roko Italian Cuisine also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Roko Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing