We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Comforting”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I woke up on a spontaneous note this morning in Greensboro, NC and decided to head to the beach. I chose the Wilmington area as it is the closest to my home.
I had a relaxing day on the beach and ended up booking a hotel during that time through Expedia. I searched the hotel in my maps and was led to this location.
Upon arrival things got a bit confusing when I found out my reservation was in fact 30 minutes further than I had in mind. I spent the next 45 minutes on the phone with Expedia trying to get my reservation transferred to this location. As frustrating as it was, and though it was my fault for not paying closer attention to my booking, the girl at the front desk was unbelievably helpful. Jessika Smith was understanding, welcoming, and willing to do anything she could to help. She made calls for me and with me in an effort to lessen my hassle, and waited patiently for the problem to be solved. As I spent all this time on the phone with the agency, I stood by as she cheeks several other groups in and was just as sweet and welcoming to each and every person who entered the building.
Not only was Jessika a saving grace to what could have been a hectic end to a wonderful day, but the room is by far the nicest room I have stayed in for a very reasonable price.
I look forward to staying in more Best Westerns in my future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malloryjill22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSWilmington, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi Mallory! We are so honored that you took the time to give our award winning Best Western Plus a review! It makes us so happy to know that we could comfort you and try our best to assist you on your spontaneous get away. We are so glad that Jessika was so helpful and welcoming. So glad you chose to stay with us and hope you stay again next time you come to the Carolina Beach/Wilmington area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    129
    47
    26
    21
See reviews for
192
115
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel has a nice clean stay with a helpful staff. The hotel has very nice amenities with well maintained rooms and a comfy bed. Internet works great. Breakfast was OK with adequate choices. It is away from the beach but has an indoor pool and fitness area. Weekday prices are very fair for the quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSWilmington, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review Megan! We are so glad you enjoyed our amenities including our indoor heated pool and spa! Hope to see you again at our Best Western Plus located only a few miles from Carolina Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great interior, pool area, nice Jacuzzi, gym, just all around nice place..

If anything? Maybe little to pricey due to its location.... But overall not bad at all, would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind staying off the beach 6-8 miles

Room Tip: No special room information... But my wife did want me to point out if you can? Park out front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSWilmington, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you Timothy for your "great" feedback from your recent stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed our amenities including our fitness center and indoor pool. Please stay with us again next time you are in the Wilmington/Carolina Beach area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

All good. Helpful staff. Nice Place. Pool was closed for maintenance but we checked in so late, it wouldn't have mattered. Restaurant next door was a pleasant surprise so having a bottle of wine was not an issue not having to drive to dine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSWilmington, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello Steve! Thank you for taking the time to leave a "nice" review of our Best Western Plus! So happy you enjoyed the restaurant right next door to our hotel and our helpful staff. Hope you come back and enjoy our indoor heated pool next time you are visiting Carolina Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The front staff, cleaning and breakfast staff were all very polite and friendly. The pool was also very nice even though we did not get a chance to use it. Our room was very roomy and clean. We had the room with a Jacuzzi tub which my wife really enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armscor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSWilmington, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you Armscor2014 for sharing your "fantastic!" guest experience with the Trip Advisor community. It was our pleasure to earn your business. The staff appreciates your recognition and hopes to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We moved to the Best Western on our 2nd night of the trip after a VERY disappointing previous night at a competitor. Wish we'd discovered this hotel sooner! First impressions were excellent: clean & inviting lobby with an adjoining well-kept indoor pool. From behind the desk Jessika greeted us with a smile & pleasantness that never waivered. She was wonderfully friendly, offered advice on nearby restaurants (including her favorite), shopping, siteseeing and beaches. She couldn't have been more welcoming to weary travelers. Our room was quiet, clean & comfortable with all expected amenities provided. The next night, HP was on the desk, and his demeanor was the same: helpful, friendly, good-humored, obviously there to make your stay as comfortable as possible. By the next morning, HP had pulled a double shift, yet still maintained his pleasant manner (probably difficult to do, as some travelers can by cranky). Through it all, HP never lost his smile. At the breakfast buffet area, Cathy kept it spotlessly clean, always refreshing the coffee, bacon, breads, yogurts etc. as needed; and always with that BW-trademark smile. Can't praise the entire staff at this hotel enough! The BW is in a convenient location: one direction is a short drive to downtown/historic, other direction to the beaches & pier. The BW is our clear choice for this area, a terrific value for price-paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePaladinKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSWilmington, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi ThePaladinKnight, thank you so much for the opportunity to earn your business. Jessika and Hp at the front desk, Cathy at breakfast, and the rest of the staff appreciate you for recognizing their efforts to accommodate you. We are so pleased to hear that we accomplished our goal, to exceed guest expectations! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you choose to visit us again when travel brings you to the Wilmington/Carolina Beach area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Nice hotel with a great indoor pool and wonderful full breakfast. The staff was incredibly helpful. The weekend rate was excellent for being so close to the beach. Would stay here again if ever in the Wilmington area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSWilmington, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Elissa! Thanks for taking the time to review our Best Western Plus on trip advisor! It was our pleasure to earn your business. We are glad you liked our indoor heated pool and full hot breakfast. Please come stay again next time you are in the Wilmington/Carolina Beach area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
6.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
7.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach

Property: Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
Address: 5600 Carolina Beach Rd, Wilmington, NC 28412 (Formerly Ameri-Stay Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#12 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Ameri Stay Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing