We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
52
68
30
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
68
30
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coast guard ship hilton hotel washer and dryer bedroom condo high floor view from the balcony the cape fear river buy groceries owned condo condo rental full size appliances false alarm in easy walking distance the uss north carolina pool and exercise room living area nearby hilton
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 185 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018

This is not your usual hotel.
We received a series of texts with instructions on where to park, where to pick up keys and how to get to our room. It was a bit like a treasure hunt, in the dark, after a long drive. There was no lobby, no front desk, no receptionist, no housekeeper (that I ever saw) . . . just a key in a lockbox. It felt more like a friend offered me their condo for the weekend. It didn't feel commercial. It was not a normal hotel at all.
The bed was adequate, but felt old. Many of the drawers in the place contained clutter. The bathroom fixtures were old and dingy. The kitchen had pots, pans, dishes, silverware, paperware, etc... It seemed like and old apartment that was only cosmetically updated. It didn't feel professional.
As others mentioned, there is an unspecified "cleaning fee" added to the bill. There are large, noisy, industrial AC units across the small parking lot. There is noisy construction going on next door that blocks all but the southern access to the building. It was surrounded by water and mud. It looks like construction has just started, and will go on for quite some time.
The location is right in the middle of the Riverwalk. There is a great view of the battleship, you can see up and down the Riverwalk, and watch the sun set from the balcony. There are a lot of bars, shops and restaurants within a few blocks.
I don't think it is worth the price I paid - especially with the cleaning fee. I would not recommend this "hotel"

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00gc, Assistant General Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Hello John K,

Please accept our apologies for disappointing you during your visit with us. We are sorry we did not provide you with the exemplary stay you should always expect from us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another chance to regain your trust.

Daniel Perkins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

This condo is next to a huge 24/7 construction site. Generator directly below the balcony making it unusable. Lights and noise all day and night.
Bathroom threshold slips and becomes a trip hazard.
Advertized pool and fitness access but it was up a hill at another location with construction all around.
Huge puddle outside room. Dangerous trip problem.
The suite was roomy and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyburk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00gc, Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear kellyburk2011,

Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so sorry you left us feeling disappointed and that you did not feel comfortable during your stay. Our guests' safety and security is of the utmost importance to us, so we take comments like yours very seriously. Please know that we will use your feedback to improve and maintain our property and ensure that all our visitors feel safe, relaxed and at ease. We hope you will consider giving us another chance soon so we can provide you with the excellent experience you deserved this time.

Daniel Perkins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

After I booked here I saw alot of bad reviews and thought oh my . However I truely believe this was worth every penny. Yes you have to check in at the Ballast Hotel and there is construction going on between the two. Parking is like right beside the hotel it's not bad at all like I have seen post on here make it out to be. There is a bacony to sit on not just a window to look at. Great little kitchen, bathroom, bedroom plus you have a livingroom area. The prices that I was seeing online for just a bed and bathroom this is extremely better. You also can us the pool and gym at the Ballast.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00gc, Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Renee, thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at Riverview Suites Wilmington. We are delighted to know that you found us to be of great value and enjoyed our spacious suite with all the comforts of home, especially the fully-equipped kitchen. We hope you will only think of us when returning to the Wilmington area, and we look forward to your next visit.

Daniel Perkins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Views from rooms ok. Pain to get to from main streets because of construction. Not marked as where to check in to know you had to check in at ballast hotel down the street. No parking at actual hotel had to park at another spot and walk. Room was not cleanest, dirt and sand on floors, bathroom had cracks in tile floors and looked like mold behind toilet. House keeping ignored sign on door to leave towels and did no house keeping. No cord hooked up to phone in room to dial out.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00gc, General Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Dear Kirsten,

We appreciate you choosing our hotel. We are committed to ensuring the comfort and satisfaction of our guests, so we apologize for your disappointment with the access to the hotel and parking. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a more enjoyable stay.

Daniel Perkins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

We came to Wilmington to visit for a few days. Picked this hotel randomly for the location and pricing. Glad we did. Other than having to figure check-in and parking out we had an awesome visit. Construction next door was out of their control and was minimal and did not hamper our sleeping at all. We were on the 2nd floor. Not too much of a view but we were out more than in so that was a non issue. The suite was nice and had all the comforts of home. It was hot as expected but nice to be so close to walk to places for meals as to taking a car. I do wish that it was relayed to potential guests upon booking a room that you have access to the amenities at the Hilton. We would have brought swimsuits if that had been known. That is a perk that I would be advertising when trying to book rooms. All in all we had a great stay. Loved the area and walking ability to nearby restaurants. Will definitely try and stay here again if we can get future visits to the area.

Room Tip: Get a 3rd floor room or higher. Second floor is barely above the tree levels on street if you a view matters to you.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank planocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00gc, Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review of your stay at Riverview Suites Wilmington. Our goal is to provide excellent service, and our team is pleased you had a restful and comfortable visit. Our location downtown on the famed Riverwalk is perfect for exploring the many treasures of our city and we’re glad that you could take an advantage of this. Thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you both soon!

Daniel Perkins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews