We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice alternative to a hotel”
Review of Riverview Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverview Suites
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to a hotel”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here for a conference because the Hilton was full. The only bad part was I didn't get a room on a high floor (4th floor) so my view was somewhat limited but still was overlooking the Coast Guard Cutter Diligence and the Cape Fear river. Larger than a typical hotel room and has a separate bedroom. The big plus is each unit has a outside balcony that has chairs to sit on and as stated in earlier reviews all units overlook the river.

Everything was clean and they provide all the amenities of a hotel including shampoo, hair dryer, towels etc. You check in at the Hilton down the street. Also the rates here were cheaper than the Hilton. Guests here have access to the pool fitness center etc. of the Hilton. Each unit is different but mine had a real comfortable bed and a larger bathroom that you would find in a hotel..Another plus is the complex has really fast elevators.

So this is a good alternative to a hotel.you might want to give it a try. .

Room Tip: Try to get the highest floor you can to get the better view of the Cape Fear River. The lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    61
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
43
64
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I spent two days in Wilmington before joining friends for a week in Topsail Beach. Because we were bringing cold food, we wanted a place with a refrigerator and therefore opted out of the Best Western down the street where we've stayed on prior trips. As always, I researched hotel options to death before making reservations. I was concerned about some of the negative reviews about Riverview Suites on TA, but decided to take a risk and give it a try. We're so glad we did!

I booked online and requested a quiet room on a high floor. As others have mentioned, this building consists of privately owned units managed by the Hilton which is located across the street. Check in at the front desk at the Hilton was a breeze, and the clerk walked outside to direct us to the covered parking lot ($14/day) and building entrance across the street. Our key card accessed the building and suite. To my surprise and delight, our suite was on the 9th (top) floor, second unit from the end (Suite 902). The view from the balcony was fabulous and reason enough to stay here! Our balcony extended out from the building, and so had a more commanding view than other interior units. I believe the photos on the property's website were taken from our room, and they are absolutely on the mark. The sunsets were spectacular!

The suite itself was immaculate. A long hallway led to a bedroom, bathroom, and laundry closet to the right, into a living room/kitchenette facing sliding doors to the patio. Furniture was a bit utilitarian but very functional. This is not a full kitchen, just an under-counter fridge with small freezer (big enough, I was pleased to discover, to hold my frozen foods), cooktop, microwave, coffee maker, and tiny sink. It was perfect for heating leftovers, which was all we needed. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we never heard a peep from other units all weekend. Housekeeping came each morning. Other tenants in the building were friendly and welcoming, going so far as to apologize to visitors when a fire drill forced everyone outside on our first night (Hilton security guys were in full force during the evacuation/inspection, which turned out to be a false alarm). Each room had a flat screen TV. We were given a box to access the internet, but didn't need to use it. The front desk explained that they are working on getting wifi to the building. In short, we had everything we needed and then some.

The location is perfect. It is not right on the river, but is directly across the street from the riverfront park and walkway. We parked the car and left it for the weekend, finding plenty of restaurants, music, and other things to do within walking distance. I enjoyed some down time at the Hilton's gorgeous outdoor pool, and would have used the fitness center if I hadn't walked my feet off in town. We had the best of both worlds with the space and privacy of our suite and the ability to use the facilities at the Hilton.

I highly recommend the Riverview Suites and will stay here again on our next trip to Wilmington.

Room Tip: Room 902 was quiet and had an extended balcony for amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great accommodation - nice balcony area overlooking Cape Fear River & a retired battleship which is well worth a trip to - we thoroughly enjoyed exploring it, and thank goodness for the arrows or we would definitely have got lost down below deck! Not for those who suffer from claustrophobia (mind you I do suffer from this a bit but felt less trapped on this, than on US Albacore submarine in Maine!) Great ship! Great accommodation, with everything you need and well placed for exploring this part of North Carolina. The only criticism is that wi fi wasn't available which is very important to us. However, a nice place to stop on tour. Run by Hilton hotel group - and their leisure facilities are available if you want them. Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizziemartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Can NOT say enough GREAT things about staying here! My bff and I stayed in suite 501 for the weekend. LOVED everything about it! The view was spectacular, the bed was the most comfortable bed ever, the bathroom was a great size! Did I mention the view was fabulous? :) There was a live band on the riverfront Friday night that we could sit on the patio and listen to and watch the people on the street! Saturday morning there was a farmers market just outside the suites! You can walk to EVERYTHING! We parked the car and never moved it (except to drive to the beach on Saturday)! I just can not rave enough about our stay! We just assumed there would not be any maid service since we were not staying at the Hilton. Well, we were wrong! We came in from shopping and the beach and the bed was made, had new towels and the suite was clean! What a wonderful surprise! The other reviews that say there is no internet connection....I guess they have that fixed now because at check-in we were asked if we wanted it. They gave us a little box for internet connection. We never took it out of the bag! THANK YOU HILTON FOR A WONDERFUL STAY! Can't wait to come back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingbug39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so lucky to have such an awesome property and location and we are thrilled when our guests get to take advantage of it. So glad you had a great time!

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A group of us, traveling from out of town for a wedding, booked these suites. A few things to know:

Hotel Overall:
This is not your traditional hotel. These are condos, individually owned, but managed by the Hilton. That said, each one is very different. We saw the inside of three units. All were very clean and nice, but some were clearly more "put together" than others. What do I mean? One unit had a full kitchen (granite counter island with bar stools). Balcony sizes and furnishings differed as did overall decor.

All rooms are riverview with views of the battleship.

Service was great. We were even able to check in before noon for no extra charge.

When booking these suites you get to use all the amenities of the Hilton--restaurant, gym, etc.

Check In:
This was confusing. There is no "front desk" at these suites. You can park in front of the Hilton across the street to check in (drive up the Hilton ramp). Your room key gets you into the locked front doors of the suites.

Parking:
You can park in the covered lot directly across the street from the Hilton and kitty corner to the Suites for $9 a day. Pay at checkout at the Hilton.

Internet:
Some units have wireless while others do not. They offer you an Ethernet box if yours doesn't have internet. Just ask for it at the Hilton front desk.

I will definitely stay here again the next time we travel to Wilmington. Right on the river with great access to downtown restaurants, bars and shops.

Room Tip: Our group stayed in rooms 602, 603, 606 and 710. If you want a big kitchen, 710 is your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you and your group for staying with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your selves. You are correct that some units may differ in decor, many of our return guests have their favorites picked out. We hope you will come again soon we love to hear about these great experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I got a very good rate on this suite - $89/night! it included a separate bedroom, bath, and living area with a small kitchen. The view from this room was great, overlooking the river and a battleship. My only issues were that there was something in the bedroom I was allergic to and some of the other tenants were a little noisy. But, for the price, it was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river and all entries are from outside walkways on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you got to enjoy yourself at the Suites. We apologize for the noise, that is not typical for those units.

Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Riverview Suites are beautiful. They are all RiverView. They are not like hotel room. They are like private condos and they are have outside access to a balcony. They are full kitchens and separate bedroom and bath. worth the stay vs. the Hilton Hotel across the street even if a little more expensive. The Hilton hotel handles the check-in and parking is included. Daniel the GM of the facilities is extra nice and was very accommodating to all your needs. thanks again. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberized18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for the wonderful review. I love the picture. These are great units to stay in and you can't beat the location or the view. We are so glad you shared. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
1,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#20 of 44 in Wilmington
220 reviews
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Suites

Property: Riverview Suites
Address: 106 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverview Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing