We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RiverView Suites are awesome”
Review of Riverview Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverview Suites
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RiverView Suites are awesome”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Riverview Suites are beautiful. They are all RiverView. They are not like hotel room. They are like private condos and they are have outside access to a balcony. They are full kitchens and separate bedroom and bath. worth the stay vs. the Hilton Hotel across the street even if a little more expensive. The Hilton hotel handles the check-in and parking is included. Daniel the GM of the facilities is extra nice and was very accommodating to all your needs. thanks again. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberized18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for the wonderful review. I love the picture. These are great units to stay in and you can't beat the location or the view. We are so glad you shared. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
38
64
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

These apartments are individually owned but rented to guests via the nearby Hilton hotel. The downside to this means each apartment will differ - eg we had no wireless Internet in our apartment as according to guest services the owner had not chosen to install it.

That said they are in a great location with balconies facing Cape Fear River (at the point the Battleship Carolina is docked). There is lots of space for a 1 bed apartment and the bonus if a washing machine/dryer (we are in USA for a month).

Parking was $9 a night.

Slight negatives - the rug, bed cover and bits of furniture had seen better days and no wifi (in apartment 501)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VFlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you or your recent stay and review. We appreciate your feedback and I will ensure that your constructive feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate team members.

Because these units are individually owned, some have wireless internet and some you will need a mini-box (which can be acquired from the front desk) to receive the internet. We are working diligently to acquire a wireless signal in all units. We are glad you were able to stay with us as long as you did and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in the Hilton Riverview Suites. They were nicely appointed and would be great for a family. There is even a washer and dryer. The view from the balcony was beautiful. Be warned that there is NO internet access if you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmaleeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your stay, We are glad you and your family were able to enjoy Wilmington with all the comforts of home. I apologize if you had internet challenges. We do have internet in each unit. In some units it is wireless in other units it is not, it all depends on what the owners have installed.

We are in the process of transitioning all units to wireless, so we apologize for any confusion and appreciate your patience. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for a night with my family (wife and two boys, ages 3 and 1). The location and views cannot be beat and the price was definitely right - $90 for a 1 bedroom "condo". We thought that having a suite instead of just a hotel room would be better for our young family and varying bed times. Because our boys go to sleep early, we put in the bedroom while my wife and I used the Murphy bed in the living area. Unfortunately, our youngest is a light sleeper and the extremely loud HVAC system kept him (and therefore the rest of us) awake most of the night. Also, the walls must be very thin/uninsulated. We were only the 9th floor (unit 905) and could clearly hear the noises of the city - especially around 2:00 when the bars closed. Two days later, we are still recovering from the lack of sleep.

Other than the noise, the property was nice and has tons of potential. It is in a fantastic location in the heart of Wilmington with beautiful views of the river and the USS North Carolina. Furnishings were dated but OK; cleanliness was good. Unfortunately, it was all ruined by the noise and the terrible night's sleep we had. We won't be coming back unless it's without the kids or until they're older.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I here the rooms can be hit or miss. Our room was absolutely amazing. We were there during the Beach to Battleship Triathlon. Watched amazing fireworks and did some antique shopping. It was my wife and I anniversary so we didn't leave the room much. We did go to New Union Union Tattoo parlor to get a couple great tattoo. Great guys their, great work. Not only a cool room but we could use the other hotel amenities. Great stay would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJSnooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and wonderful review. These units are ideal for event weekends. It is wonderful you got see the fireworks, the balconies provide and unbelievable view don't they?

We hope you will come back and join us again, it's the perfect place for a weekend getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

First of all this is not a hotel. It is not even a time share. It is a condo building down the street from the hilton hotel. You have to check in at the hilton and can use everything there but it is a long up hill walk. If you like getting pampered and are demanding stick to the hilton. They are very nice and helpful. I you want some extra room and don't mind being away from everything this place is good. The location can't be beat for walking around the city and river. The views from the rooms are great and they all face the river. the balcony is small and the furniture is to small to sit out if you are over 125 pounds. The furniture inside depends on the unit. It is passable but not up to hilton standards. This is more like staying at a friends condo than going to a hotel.

Room Tip: You want a room higher up for the best view of the battleship and the river. If you take a taxi tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. You are right, this building is not a hotel. They are individually owned units that participate in a rental program. They are a great place to stay, especially for extended amounts of time. The Hilton is not affiliated with this program with exception of the check in.

If in-house amenities is what you are looking for the Hilton is the place. If you would like Condos with kitchens and private balconies in the heart of downtown, then this the ideal place to stay.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
241 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I booked the Riverview Suites after careful consideration and reading all the reviews. I thought I was fully aware of the pros and cons. I booked our 3 night stay there thinking we would enjoy a little extra space, having a small kitchen area and especially the balcony. I asked for a room high up for the best view possible. We were given a room on the 8th floor. Okay, good view and nice size balcony. After that I struggled to find much nice about the accommodations. The bedroom was small and dark, only one window with the blinds shut since it overlooked the walkway. The a/c nit was in the closet and loud. The bathroom was clean and a good size, but the compact fluorescent bulbs take so long to get bright, it seemed dark for a few minutes. The living area was sparse and the carpet could not be more stained. The kitchen area is not in any picture on the Internet, it does nothing to help the appearance of the room. The chairs around the table were filthy. We asked to see another room and the Hilton accommodated and showed us another. It was eaxactly the same, but a smaller balcony. Good news is the Hilton helped us move to a room in the Hilton. They were so accommodating! We moved after dinner and a show at 10:00 at night, when they finally had a cancellation. I can not say enough about how great their customer service staff was to find us another room. All ended well in the long run, but I would not book another stay at the suites.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your stay and review. I am sorry you were disappointed in the accommodations. We continue to upgrade dated furniture in these individually owned units, so we appreciate when guests bring such comments to our attention. We will forward your information to the appropriate people to remedy this situation immediately.

Thank you again for your stay and I hope you will return soon to give us another opportunity to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
6.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Suites

Property: Riverview Suites
Address: 106 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverview Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing