We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, good value”
Review of Riverview Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverview Suites
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed February 12, 2008

My family has visited Wilmington in May for the past few years, and have found the Riverview Suites to be a very good deal. The rooms have pretty much everything you need to spend a few days. It's more like staying in a small apartment than a hotel room.
There's a full kitchen, so you can bring/buy groceries and save a few dollars from eating out for every meal. A separate bedroom is very nice with a tempurpedic mattress, plus there's a foldout couch which the kids love to sleep on. The rooms include a washer/dryer which can come in handy in case there are any wardrobe malfunctions during your stay. The balcony overlooks the river, and is a nice place to sit and have a cup of coffee in the mornings. For roughly the same price as a normal room across the street at the Hilton, you get a lot more space and features with the Riverview suites.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bronco611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 164 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2008

Loud Drunken Rednecks and College Students cram into one bedroom puke pads. Hilton Security no where to be seen. Police do not respond to 911 calls. High Crime Area. Urine Smell around the building. Coast Guard Cutter under reconstruction in front of building. Very Noisy. Housekeeping Very Noisy.

Never Again will my wife and I stay here. The above information is the absolute truth and this wasn't New Years Eve either.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jeffredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrywilmington, Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2008

We truly apolgize for any inconveniences that were caused by other guests. Our suites have always had good to great reviews. Obviously we cannot screen every person or group who checks into our hotel but we do everything in our power to ensure that our guests enjoy their experience and feel safe. We are addressing this complaint with our security staff. I have found our security staff to be some of the best I have ever encountered in my many years working in the hotel. I do have concerns about the comments about crime, Wilmington is a very safe town which is visited by thousands of people each year. North Carolina considers Historic Downtown Wilmington as one of it's most visited destinations and the police do a great job of making sure visitors are safe. Again, we do apologize for the terrible experience this couple had but I assure you that this is the exception and not the rule.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Riverview Suites last December for a wedding and it was amazing! Gorgeous river view from our balcony. The Coast Gaurd ships were parked right in front of our room. Very nice and cozy accomadations and the best part was the Tempurpedic bed. I never slept better!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gagirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

My husband and I stay at Riverview Suites every time we visit Wilmington. Checking in is a bit of an unconventional experience, but I don't mind it. Check in at the Hilton across the street. With your key in hand, cross back over and you can freely enter and exit through doors that lead to the elevator. It's kind of nice not having to walk through a lobby every time we come and go.

Each room is a real suite. Each bosts separate bedroom with a door, one bath, small balcony overlooking the river, a living space and kitchenette. The decor is basic, lower-end version of Pottery Barn

As far as I know, guests at the RVS have access to Hilton ammenities, such as their pool. In the past, we have ahd to call about loud noise from one of the other units. This was remedied quickly.

HIGHLIGHTS
full suite
balcony is quaint and inviting
can walk to many Wilmingon attractions/shopping/eating
privacy
kitchen facilities in-room
memory foam mattress
pretty view
puts you in the middle of everything Wilmnington has to offer
washer dryer in unit

LOWLIGHTS
can hear noise from the street below balconies; that's when the separate bedroom comes in handy
can hear dispatch, announcements from Coast Guard docking station in front of hotl
privacy can feel a bit isolating sometimes
some units experiencing some wear & tear
"Lobby" is kinda gross and contains elevators

TIPS
Check event schedules before you go. If there is a festival going on the steet ebedoe, please note that it can be extremely difficult to relax stay at RVS,, and fee like you are ready for school

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pollyjean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

My husband and I (along with our toddler son) decided last minute to make a trip to Wilmington for Labor Day weekend. Riverview Suites, the sister property of Hilton Riverside Hotel, well exceeded our expectations: FANTASTIC river front view/river walk location; spacious and tasteful 1 bedroom condo/apt.-like accommodations; parking right next to property; very helpful staff; and great rate for a holiday weekend.
LOCATION: All the suites/condos have balconies that face out towards the river/riverwalk. The historic battleship and Coast Guard ship are parked right on the river in front of the property. You are walking distance from most all the major downtown shops, eateries, and points of interests. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel (sister property) is right across the street and where you check in when you arrive. Right next to the Riverview Suites building is a covered parking garage, which costs $9/day.During super busy holidays and local events, it can probably get noisy at night; we did not, however, have problems sleeping through an occasional lively guest walking down the hallway or car zooming down the main street.

ACCOMMODATIONS:If you have a child(ren) traveling with you and don't want to be cramped in a small little hotel room or pay lots of money for larger suites or extra rooms, this is a wonderful place for you. We paid $179/night (the very same price for a regular room across the street at the Hilton!) for basically a one bedroom condo with very convenient amenities. It had a very spacious bathroom, a separate enclosed bedroom with cable TV and furniture, a living room area complete with additional TV, pull out sofa, separate office/work table (there's free internet access, but it did not always work),a small dining table with chairs, and small kitchenette. The kitchenette area had a microwave, toaster, coffee-maker, full-sized refrigerator, stove, oven and even tableware, utensils, and cookware. For a family staying longer period and wanting to do some cooking instead of eating out all the time, this place allows you that option. There was even a washer and dryer unit in the suite as well! I am not sure if all the units are all aesthetically equal, but ours was surprisingly modern and visually appealing -- warm-toned hard wood floors in kitchen and living room, modern-like furniture and tasteful artwork. We really were getting a lot for our money. To top things off, we also had access to all the perks at the sister hotel across the street as well since the suites building, itself, does not have a manned staffing office. Therefore, you could still get regular room service, use the hotel pool, exercise facilities, etc. There were a few times we called over to the Hilton to have them bring us some things (e.g., internet cable wire, baby crib), and they gave a speedy response. Check out is 11:00 but we asked them for a 1:00om check out, and they agreed.

SUMMARY: For families or larger groups, Riverview Suites is a great value and great space without sacrificing service or location. It allows more flexibility and comforts of home.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank carolinaJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

This is the place to stay in Wilmington! All suites have balconies that overlook the river. Full access to the Hilton is granted with your stay. EVERYTHING is in walking distance. We go for "kid free" weekends, park on Friday and don't get back in the vehicle until Sunday. Very clean with modern furnishings. The best is sitting on the balcony watching the Azalea Festival looking out over the river and the NC Battleship. If you go to Wilmington, stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NCGoRedSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2006

Those thinking about staying at the Hilton Riverside in Wilmington, NC should seriously consider this sister-facility one block down Water Street. Each one-bedroom suite comes with a queen bed and pull-out sofa, large bathroom, washer-dryer, kitchenette with full-size refrigerator and stove, and, best of all, a balcony overlooking the Cape Fear river and looking directly at the docked Battleship North Carolina. Residents can use the Hilton's amenities, but if you don't need immediate access to the pool, there's little difference in price between the two facilities. The furnishings are somewhat spartan, but more than suit your needs. Also, those desiring high-speed Internet have to check-out a Telkonet kit from the main hotel's front desk, which worked fine unless my laptop was plugged in at the same time. This minor annoyance aside, it was a great getaway and a block closer in walking distance to Market and Water Streets than the Hilton itself.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank enm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#22 of 45 in Wilmington
237 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Suites

Address: 106 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: $110 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverview Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riverview Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing