We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Nick's Diner - CLOSED

Nick's Diner
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Martinsville va
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ate breakfast here, great food. Right on main drag so can eat and people watch. No push to get you out when done eating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dhouston2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock hill sc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great eclectic location with local art and good food.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the waiter with lambchop sideburns, to the local comic hero art on the walls, Nick's Diner is a fun place to eat! The staff is very friendly, and families are welcome, but there is a cool, college vibe that reminds me of my younger days. The menu is large including breakfast served all day. I recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scully123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food but you may want to wear ear plugs.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've been to Nick's Diner several times for breakfast and lunch and have always had great service and great food. Today I woke up and decided to head there for some good French toast. My server was great and the food was great, but hearing some staff member curse and one guy telling another server, "I will fart in your mouth", was just down right gross while trying to eat. My advice: if you don't want your kids learning new words and new phrases, put ear plugs on them. That also go for you if you don't want to hear those things. Other then that, food is great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse28451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
538 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Once a fan, but not lately”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have been to Nick's Diner many times, mostly for breakfast, but occasionally for lunch as well. Everyone I went with also enjoyed dining here. It has been monhs since my last visit, but recently my husband and I decided to go for lunch. We found the place a little less appealing regarding our food, though our service was good. However it was not a memorable experience. We followed up with breakfast the following week, and were disappointed in the entire experience. Although our eggs were cooked well, the sausage was extremely dried out, and the pancakes were almost crispy. The syrup tasted awful to me. The hallway had a foul smell. We regretted giving a second chance after the disappointing lunch. I honestly don't see myself returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoisNCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Two Pages of Vegetarian Options”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nick's tabbed menu featured a two-page "centerfold" of vegetarian and vegan options. My husband and I both had the veggie breakfast wrap for lunch. It included scrambled tofu, veggie sausage, peppers, onions, tomatoes and spinach in a spinach wrap. It was delicious and satisfying.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Salette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Diner also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing