We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gloria's Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Gloria's Italian Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had a great experience here. I had house wine to drink and was very god, I had soup minestrone and veal saltimboca, it was delicious. I definitely will come back

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oresti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    2
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wilmington, nc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had a really great dinner! Food was outstanding. Fresh pasta made daily; great veal dishes; lightest tiramisu I've ever had. Great customer service Not a huge restaurant so go early or get a reservation. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jerryvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good house wine, best shrimp fradiavolo I have had in a while and finished with best espresso. Restaurant is small and cosy. The owner, was nice and the staff were up to the game.

Helpful?
2 Thank Aerotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We dined here mid week. It was fairly busy, however the place is not that big. After being seated, we waited with menus for quite a while before anyone asked if we would like to order a drink, much less dinner! I had asked if the salads were large and the waitress told me yes, so I asked if I could order a small, dinner sized salad, to which she replied, I will tell him to make it small. However, I was charged the regular price for the salad!! The pasta dish I ordered was covered with a thick sauce and the meatballs were an odd texture, not very appetizing. The owner was bringing out the entrees in a hurried fashion, which makes me think they are understaffed. In all, the salad was good but I was overcharged and the entree was not very good, so I dont think I will be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ivyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Mediocre to poor food - spotty service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Gloria's was full which gave me a good feel for the place which was not favorable. The bar is very small. The restaurant was full that means thirteen tables of four. There were only two waitresses with service slow and forgetful. the owner acts as the food runner.

The broth of the soup was very thin and watery, the veal parm had two small scallopinis pounded so very thin it was impossible to taste the meat. The bolongese sauce while tasty was very oily leaving large deposits of oil on the plate, the spaghetti was cold and mushy, and the meatballs were sort of rubbery tasting like there was no beef in them at all. They do give a nice large pour of the house wines which helped the total experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Caleb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gloria's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing