We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is horrible.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is horrible.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I waited 30 minutes while staff was talking just to be checked in. They are very unorganized. I was not pleased at all and will not be returning. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It was not very good service and it was definitely not worth the price. I would maybe stay for 40 dollars a night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artaylor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    31
    23
    43
See reviews for
38
36
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I would stay there again. Clean, accessible to the beach and downtown, and affordable. Staff friendly and security guards are a plus. They let us know when we left the lights on in the car. I recommend this gotwl for a place to sleep and get out of the sun. No luxuries, but comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshworsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Horrible from start to finish.

CUSTOMER SERVICE: We were coming from about 2 hours away and ended up getting there a little early. Check in is 3pm, we got there at about 11am. They said the day before that we could ask if we could check in early when we got there. OK, fine. When we got there, they said our room wasn't ready. Fair enough, we said we would go to the beach and come back a little later.

We get back at 2pm - still not ready. The man says, "There's nothing we can do until 3." They claim that they're "so busy" meanwhile there are 5 cars in the parking lot and they knew we had been there asking since 11am. Logic would dictate that if you have customers waiting, you would take special care to get them squared away. So we wait in the parking lot for an hour in 95+ degree heat, with our dog.

SAFETY: While we're waiting, we are approached by a man - and I can't even make this up - who wandered out of the woods carrying a fishing pole and a SWORD, who then proceeded to ask us for money. Some long story about his wife and their vacation from hell, etc etc. Claimed he just "found the sword on the ground" Oh, okay, makes perfect sense - not. So at this point we're even more desperate for 3pm to roll around.

CHECK IN: 3pm rolls around - check in time, right? Wrong. These jerks kept us waiting for another 45 minutes, claiming that because we needed a "special room" (for the dog, claiming that the room was "easier to clean") it was taking longer, plus the fact that they were "SO busy" (though no one else had been waiting since 11am). Whatever.

While we were waiting outside one of the staff members came out of a smoke break and since we were sitting right there, made awkward, clumsy conversation laced with "I'm soooo sorry for the wait, we've been so busy!" Meanwhile, we had been there for hours and it wasn't until 3pm that a decent amount of cars actually started to show up. Once again, we get that 3pm is check in, but yet again - if you know people are waiting, wouldn't basic customer service logic tell you to get those people out of the heat and into their room ASAP? 45 minutes past check-in is absolutely unreasonable.

ROOM: We finally get to the room. It is a shoe-box with two beds packed into a space barely comfortable for one. The walls and ceilings are PAPER thin. We could hear every word the people next door, and outside, were saying - and because there happened to be a bunch of college kids staying next to us, that went on well into the night. If you're a light sleeper you're [--] at this place. Tiny TV with horrible static-y reception, sheets and blankets felt gross and "used" like they had a film on them or something. I never wanted a sleeping bag so bad in my life

SHOWER: I think I know what it must be like to take a shower in prison now. This "shower" is literally like bathing under a super-violent hose. It doesn't have spouts like a normal shower head - it's just one hole that shoots out and beats the crap out of your skin.

They have a sign out front that says "The Inn at Wilmington Welcomes You!" I really wanted to just climb up there with a sharpie and scrawl in "...BUT NOT REALLY."

Most outdated, disgusting, poorly run, poorly staffed place we've ever stayed in. Would not recommend for any reason.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gowanda, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Place was very clean and neat. It was packed and very quiet. Office staff is VERY FRIENDLY and VERY HELPFUL. The location is perfect to get to anywhere. The neighborhood is a nice one as well.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyHoganSica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here and regretted it! We had so many issues here, I don't even know where to begin. First, I booked online. It clearly states that we can change credit card payment if necessary. When we got there, we told the woman at the front desk that we needed to change the form payment and she said that was fine. Went ahead and paid. When we got to the room, it was not very clean. The television was broken! We had to call and get a man to exchange the TV. The WiFi is horrible here. No connection and when you do get a connection it lasts for 5 minutes then disconnects! The toilet was overflowing so we had to call yet again to have someone fix it. Just horrible experience there. After leaving and heading home, I was notified by my bank that I was charged on the card that was NOT supposed to be charged. I called and spoke with Michelle and she simply said there was nothing she could do and that I had to call the people from online reservations. She was extremely rude and I asked to speak to a manager. She put me on hold for over 20 minutes. Then I decided to call the online reservation customer service line and explained my situation. The man told me it was the hotel who had to refund me because they charged me. I told him that is exactly what I had told the woman at the hotel. He decided to call the hotel for me and spoke to the manager. He told me everything was situated and that my card would be refunded per the manager there. It really upset me that the hotel worker was so rude and not willing to help. I should have read reviews online because I found more and more reviews of the same situation!!! Makes me sick to think of someone trying to scam other people like that when we just needed a place to stay while visiting and they treated us so rudely. Don't work in customer service if you do not want to be around people! I plan on finding out who owns the hotel and speaking with them about my experience because it was so stressful and disrespectful of the women working at the front desk. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmh6187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

we stay here for two nights, we were told before we came both nights would be 85$ the next a.m we had to pay over 100$ We had many problems with the internet , never worked after being told it would be three times. dont leave anything in vechile important bc of theives walking thru parking lot. killied a spider on bed, tv is no good. rude desk persons.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pissed off people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived about 12:30am for a one-night stay. At check in, counter staff were very friendly and helpful. Got to our room to find big problems. Room was very dirty. Carpet had visible debris and had not been vacuumed. Large dead beetle or roach lying right in the middle of the floor. Other people's hair in amongst the bed sheets. Gross. We probably wouldn't have stayed, but it was already late & we were tired & we didn't know how readily we'd find a vacancy somewhere else. There were two of us (my wife and me), but we found only one wash cloth and one towel. No bathmat for the floor. Went back to the front desk to ask for more towels, and they didn't have any. They said they'd look around to find some and bring them to us. We waited about 20 minutes without hearing back from them, and finally called and told them we were just going to bed. Next morning, we just took turns with the one towel and left as early as we could. Would not return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebilldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
1.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#29 of 45 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#35 of 45 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#32 of 45 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
2.7 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
#40 of 45 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington

Property: Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington
Address: 2828 Market St, Business Highway 17/74, Wilmington, NC 28403-1220 (Formerly Inn at Wilmington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americans Best Value Inn Wilmington is located near the center of all there is to do in beautiful historic Wilmington. The historic district of downtown Wilmington is one of the largest and most elegant districts listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The grand homes and quaint shops provide amazing stops on any number of walking tours through the area. Beachcombers and sun-seekers will find plenty to love on Cape Fear Beach and the island communities of Wrightsville Beach, Kure Beach and Carolina Beach. Travel back in time as you shop for antiques in historic downtown Wilmington and tour the coastline from the water with Carolina Coastal Adventures. Wilmington itself is a treasure. From our port-city roots to our resurgence as the largest film-industry town outside of California, we will impress you with the diverse range of things to do here in town. Visit the USS NC Battleship, Airlie Gardens or one of our world-class museums. Learn about Civil War history. Go shopping, dining, hunting, fishing, beach combing and to the theater-all on the same day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Motel Six
Wilmington Motel 6
Motel 6 Wilmington
Motel Six Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing