We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, but good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Island Eatery

Long Island Eatery
Ranked #280 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Basic, but good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

The food is good, but a little pricey. Just don't expect a pickle, chips, or even a paper plate with your sandwich!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We went out of our way to eat at Long Island Eatery because I had a coupon. Everything we tried was great. The best was The Wilmingtonian. Pay the extra for the hoggie type bread for a larger sandwich. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pkc789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No frills breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a great cappuccino and basic two egg breakfast and went out of my way to try the Long Island Eatery. The restaurant was bright and clean, ESPN loud on a single TV. This is deli casual - all styrofoam, plastic, and parchment paper. Syrup comes in single serve disposable containers. Toast is not on the menu, but they were happy to make some. Jelly is available only on request and it's grape or nothing. This was cheap, no frills breakfast for people who aren't fussy about the meal as long as they don't have to cook or choose off a long menu. The young men working the deli on a slow Sunday morning were accommodating and friendly. It's for this comfortable, familial feeling alone that I'll return, but for a deli lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Occhiperonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not quite Long Island, but pretty close!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Every time I go to visit my daughter at UNCW, we stop by the Long Island Eatery. The sandwiches, salads, and coffee has always been very good. They haven't quite mastered the New York style bread. I asked for my Long Island discount and the owner laughed. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Class Deli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've never had a deli sandwich I haven't enjoyed from this restaurant. I've also had their meatballs which are wonderful. Same price as "fast food", if not less, but a quality lunch. This restaurant is always clean, the coffee is great and so are the desserts. I'm glad you're here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Island Eatery also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Long Island Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing