We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wingate by Wyndham in Wilmington, NC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    327
    99
    31
    16
See reviews for
483
273
51
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LANDIS
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked online, had printed out confrimation with prices etc on it. The last night of our stay they shot a bill under the door. When checking the bill we noticed the rates they had on the bill were a bit higher than our confrimation . We went down tot he service desk to have this fixed. The girl working " Brogan?"very rudly told us that they couldnt see what we agreed to pay on their computer. Ummmm we booked it online through Wingate. She did fix the price but gave us a real attitude the whole time. We said we should get the advertised 10% lower fee since we had found it online cheaper than they were trying to charge in the hotel. My wife told her that she thought at least an apology was in order and the response was ...yeah right... Everything and everyone at this hotel were great except for the mess up on pricing and the rudeness of this one employee.We booked in @ $69.23 a night and they charged our card $75.90 a night

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesDirectorWingate, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so sorry if it appeared we were being less than honest. Our management and staff strive to give all our guests 100% guest satisfaction and are saddened that you left disheartened after a wonderful stay. We would never purposely try to mislead our guests. As wonderful as the computer age is, computers sometimes do not always work the way we hope them too. Again, I apologize for any miscommunication. We have reviewed the incident with our guest service representatives. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at this hotel. The rooms are clean and the staff very helpful. Add to that a complimentary breakfast and you have a great place to hang your hat while in Wilmington. This hotel is centrally located to anywhere you'd like to go in the city. Be sure to ask to be located in the rear of the building... sometimes the front can get a bit noisy because of traffic on Market Street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AATuccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesDirectorWingate, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We appreciate you choosing us to hang your hat while staying in Wilmington. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The recent rennovation is very pleasant. Rooms cheerful and spacious. Good sized fridge and a microvave! Silly little extra....but this was the ONLY hotel out of 4 on this trip to provide a shower cap AND make-up removal towelettes. THAT is a big plus in my book. Plenty of space in the bathroom. Generous hot breakfast with plenty of protein offerings. Located on the main strip with easy access to both the beach and historic downtown...and the Battleship...a great side trip. wish I had brought my bathing suit. A relaxing whirlpool looked VERY inviting to my tired bones. Staff very pleasant and helpful. A Good Deal

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesDirectorWingate, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Wow, thank you for taking the time to give us a fantastic review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and all our extras. We hope to see you again your next time in Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST END
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Wingate was very nice and clean. The staff was excellent. It is in a very good location conveniet to a lot of shopping, resturants,etc. We got a free apptieser at Carrabas because the Wingate made the reservation. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Rickie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesDirectorWingate, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it is greatly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
Address: 5126 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#5 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Hotel Wilmington
Wingate Hotel Wilmington
Wyndham Wilmington
Wilmington Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing