We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly...accommodating. ....clean.....prefer cinema building....people extremely nice and its clear they are glad u r there...”
Review of The Wilmingtonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wilmingtonian
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Friendly...accommodating. ....clean.....prefer cinema building....people extremely nice and its clear they are glad u r there...”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I stay in a lot of places and this a great value and they clearly value their customers. ..we were a walk in and she made every effort to make us welcome and make sure we were happy....wish every hospitality based company would take their approach..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are glad to hear that you felt so welcome at our inn. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    65
    27
    20
    8
See reviews for
20
119
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked this over the internet because it looked charming and I was not disappointed. The placeturned out to be lovely and we got to park right out front. Our room was up above a well-manicured courtyard and we were delighted by tables to sit at in a raised gazebo and rocking chairs in front of our door on the porch. The room was small but well-equipped with a living room area and desk, and a stocked kitchenette in addition to our bedroom and bathroom. The hotel was also right across the street from a market and super close to the riverfront and restaurants. I couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay for what I paid. I will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DT_Girl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had a great time staying with us! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was there for the Under The Dome premiere and I was floored with how beautiful the hotel is. Very nice room. Great comfortable bed to sleep in and quiet.

The staff was very nice to this guy from Vegas who felt like a fish out of water in Wilmington.

The closeness to the waterfront was great. Will for sure stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackMartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Great to hear from you again and we're glad that you had a good time in Wilmington. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've been coming here for years because I LOVE this one room's ambiance, and the hotel's location. The staff is generally efficient and kind, tho one year, I saw apathy in one of the staff members.

I get the DRAM room. It has three floors. You open the door, and it's such a cool room. Wooden floors, brick wall. Little kitchenette with a dining area. You step down into a sucken livingroom with a loooooong fat couch that rests against a long brick wall. You go up a bunch of stairs to a tiny bedroom. Bed is comfortable, closet is sizable, and there's a small dresser and a sit-furnature piece with a mirror to put make-up on. Other than that, there's very little furniture.

The bathroom has a tub with a permanent stain around the drain, and a ity-bity tiny sink. There's room to put your stuff on a ledge they supply, and a fat window sill.

GOOD POINTS:
-- Such cool design, has character
-- Excellent location within walking distance to everything
-- Dog friendly (!!)
-- Pleasant staff, for the most part

PROBLEMS:
-- They don't stock the kitchen. I was shocked to see that there were only two plates, about 5 mis-matched glasses, literally 3 knives, 3 forks, and 2 spoons. There are a few pots and pans. No pot holders, tho there's an oven. Most of the cupboards are bare. Maybe they have a problem with people stealing dishes and such. If that's the case, then maybe they should take inventory, and charge guests if they steal.

-- Don't walk barefoot on the wooden floors, or you'll get black feet.

-- While the bed sheets were clean and the towels were plush and fresh, the cleaning crew hadn't cleaned the floors or wall trimming in years. I worried a little about sitting on the couch.

-- College kids walk by until 2am and are LOUD. There's nothing the hotel can do about this. Wilmington is a thriving town, and this didn't really bother me, as I slept thru it. But if you want quiet at night, ahh... ya' ain't gonna' get it here.

All in all, I love this place, and will be back, dirty feet and all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take your opinion seriously. Please know that we are looking into the issues you listed and will take the appropriate actions to fix them. We would like to take this opportunity to address a few of the items that you mentioned.

The particular suite you reference here is the Railroad suite. It is one of seven suites located in the Dram Tree House. Several of the items that you pointed out only apply to this particular suite. It is the only suite on property with the split-level design that you described. Because of its unique layout and location, we are always up front with guests whenever booking this suite. None of the other suites have this issue with noise, which is generally only an issue on weekends in the summer. So, we have some guests who absolutely love this suite and others who would rather stay in one of the other suites on property. Most are very quiet even on the busiest weekends. Part of the ambiance of the Dram Tree house are the pedestal sinks which, unfortunately, don't provide much storage space. We've tried to provide shelving where possible.

Over the years we have found that most of our guests don't use the kitchens very much for cooking, so rather than stocking every room with an entire kitchen set we keep a few of the lesser used items (pots, blenders, colanders, graters, etc.) stored away. We would have happily provided them had you asked.

Again, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love this place. It is just a couple of blocks from River Walk and so many great restaurants and attractions downtown. The rooms have great views of a lovely little garden with shared balcony (but each room has its own area with ceiling fan and rocking chairs). Some people might find the furnishings in the rooms a little bit old or worn, but our bed was so comfortable. The rooms have a full kitchen and even have a washer/dryer, which really helped us because the airline had lost our luggage and we really needed it. We came with no reservation and the friendly desk attendant dropped the weekly rate because they were not full. Every desk attendant I encountered (3) was super-polite and helpful. We stayed in the Cinema building, but also looked at a room in another building that was equally as nice--I just liked the view better. There are steps only, which was no issue for us. There is a luggage elevator, so you don't have to tote your stuff up if you don't want to.

Room Tip: The person at the desk let us look at available rooms and choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRuss82799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Cinema House on the top floor. Overall very pleased and will probably book again as our room had a great view of the July 4th fireworks over the river.

Location:
Downtown historic district of Wilmington, is within walking distance of several nice restaurants and little shops. A couple of blocks off the riverwalk.

Room:
Simple but very nice, nothing fancy. Room was very clean and well kept. Flat screens in both the living room and bedroom. Full kitchen with real plates and glasses available. Large refrigerator. Outdoor balcony had 2 rocking chairs and a ceiling fan. Also had a washer/dryer in the bathroom. Nice large towels in the bathrooms (better than most large hotels). Good strong wifi signal. You do have to walk up stairs to get to the 3rd floor rooms, but they had a luggage elevator.

Hotel staff:
Very nice, check-in/check-out was smooth. Nice simple spread for breakfast in main lobby (fruits, yogurts, muffins, coffee and soft drinks complimentary).

Bottom line:
Yes, we would stay here again. It’s a good value and great location if you want to walk to things downtown. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because the facility just isn’t high-end. But remember, you’re staying in the “historic downtown” area. All of the buildings there have been around a while.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We really appreciated reading your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waregem, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the lovely Wilmingtonian Hotel in downtown Wilmington for one night in March. The guys that met us at the reception desk were extremely courteous. We had reserved thru their website and when we got there, everything went very smoothly.

We were given an actual key to our room, pretty rare in the days of keycards, even though the key sort of jammed a bit. Our room was on the second floor of the Maritime House building (they have two other buildings that are slightly more expensive). The door entered into a small seating area with a tv set and a small desk. The bedroom (with storage room) is in the back (the street side) and is connected to the seating area by a kitchenette (coffee machine, fridge, microwave) and a pretty spacious bathroom. The room was very clean and has an old fashioned charm about it . There's also a front porch with rocking chairs.

The Wilmingtonian doesn't offer breakfast, but there are complimentary snacks and drinks in the lobby. Obviously, there's free wifi, quite standard these days. Parking is free too, thanks to a parking lot across the street that the hotel uses, wich is an absolute advantage, as The Wilmingtonian is located centrally in Wilmington, just two blocks from the Riverwalk. All the major sights in downtown are within walking distance. We paid about 90 dollars for a single night, which, considering the location and amenities, was perfect.

In all: great room, free parking, fair price, friendly people and a perfect location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stijn-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much. We're glad to hear that you had a great time with us here in Wilmington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
1,368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#30 of 44 in Wilmington
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
4.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmingtonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmingtonian

Property: The Wilmingtonian
Address: 101 S 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4401
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wilmingtonian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in historic, downtown Wilmington surrounded by beautifully restored 19th-century homes and tree-lined neighborhoods, the meticulously renovated Wilmingtonian Inn extends an invitation to unwind, relax, and absorb the romantic ambiance of Cape Fear Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wilmingtonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington
Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing