We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance, nice staff, not so clean or stocked”
Review of The Wilmingtonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wilmingtonian
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've been coming here for years because I LOVE this one room's ambiance, and the hotel's location. The staff is generally efficient and kind, tho one year, I saw apathy in one of the staff members.

I get the DRAM room. It has three floors. You open the door, and it's such a cool room. Wooden floors, brick wall. Little kitchenette with a dining area. You step down into a sucken livingroom with a loooooong fat couch that rests against a long brick wall. You go up a bunch of stairs to a tiny bedroom. Bed is comfortable, closet is sizable, and there's a small dresser and a sit-furnature piece with a mirror to put make-up on. Other than that, there's very little furniture.

The bathroom has a tub with a permanent stain around the drain, and a ity-bity tiny sink. There's room to put your stuff on a ledge they supply, and a fat window sill.

GOOD POINTS:
-- Such cool design, has character
-- Excellent location within walking distance to everything
-- Dog friendly (!!)
-- Pleasant staff, for the most part

PROBLEMS:
-- They don't stock the kitchen. I was shocked to see that there were only two plates, about 5 mis-matched glasses, literally 3 knives, 3 forks, and 2 spoons. There are a few pots and pans. No pot holders, tho there's an oven. Most of the cupboards are bare. Maybe they have a problem with people stealing dishes and such. If that's the case, then maybe they should take inventory, and charge guests if they steal.

-- Don't walk barefoot on the wooden floors, or you'll get black feet.

-- While the bed sheets were clean and the towels were plush and fresh, the cleaning crew hadn't cleaned the floors or wall trimming in years. I worried a little about sitting on the couch.

-- College kids walk by until 2am and are LOUD. There's nothing the hotel can do about this. Wilmington is a thriving town, and this didn't really bother me, as I slept thru it. But if you want quiet at night, ahh... ya' ain't gonna' get it here.

All in all, I love this place, and will be back, dirty feet and all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodyPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We take your opinion seriously. Please know that we are looking into the issues you listed and will take the appropriate actions to fix them. We would like to take this opportunity to address a few of the items that you mentioned.

The particular suite you reference here is the Railroad suite. It is one of seven suites located in the Dram Tree House. Several of the items that you pointed out only apply to this particular suite. It is the only suite on property with the split-level design that you described. Because of its unique layout and location, we are always up front with guests whenever booking this suite. None of the other suites have this issue with noise, which is generally only an issue on weekends in the summer. So, we have some guests who absolutely love this suite and others who would rather stay in one of the other suites on property. Most are very quiet even on the busiest weekends. Part of the ambiance of the Dram Tree house are the pedestal sinks which, unfortunately, don't provide much storage space. We've tried to provide shelving where possible.

Over the years we have found that most of our guests don't use the kitchens very much for cooking, so rather than stocking every room with an entire kitchen set we keep a few of the lesser used items (pots, blenders, colanders, graters, etc.) stored away. We would have happily provided them had you asked.

Again, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love this place. It is just a couple of blocks from River Walk and so many great restaurants and attractions downtown. The rooms have great views of a lovely little garden with shared balcony (but each room has its own area with ceiling fan and rocking chairs). Some people might find the furnishings in the rooms a little bit old or worn, but our bed was so comfortable. The rooms have a full kitchen and even have a washer/dryer, which really helped us because the airline had lost our luggage and we really needed it. We came with no reservation and the friendly desk attendant dropped the weekly rate because they were not full. Every desk attendant I encountered (3) was super-polite and helpful. We stayed in the Cinema building, but also looked at a room in another building that was equally as nice--I just liked the view better. There are steps only, which was no issue for us. There is a luggage elevator, so you don't have to tote your stuff up if you don't want to.

Room Tip: The person at the desk let us look at available rooms and choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRuss82799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Cinema House on the top floor. Overall very pleased and will probably book again as our room had a great view of the July 4th fireworks over the river.

Location:
Downtown historic district of Wilmington, is within walking distance of several nice restaurants and little shops. A couple of blocks off the riverwalk.

Room:
Simple but very nice, nothing fancy. Room was very clean and well kept. Flat screens in both the living room and bedroom. Full kitchen with real plates and glasses available. Large refrigerator. Outdoor balcony had 2 rocking chairs and a ceiling fan. Also had a washer/dryer in the bathroom. Nice large towels in the bathrooms (better than most large hotels). Good strong wifi signal. You do have to walk up stairs to get to the 3rd floor rooms, but they had a luggage elevator.

Hotel staff:
Very nice, check-in/check-out was smooth. Nice simple spread for breakfast in main lobby (fruits, yogurts, muffins, coffee and soft drinks complimentary).

Bottom line:
Yes, we would stay here again. It’s a good value and great location if you want to walk to things downtown. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because the facility just isn’t high-end. But remember, you’re staying in the “historic downtown” area. All of the buildings there have been around a while.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

We really appreciated reading your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Wilmington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the lovely Wilmingtonian Hotel in downtown Wilmington for one night in March. The guys that met us at the reception desk were extremely courteous. We had reserved thru their website and when we got there, everything went very smoothly.

We were given an actual key to our room, pretty rare in the days of keycards, even though the key sort of jammed a bit. Our room was on the second floor of the Maritime House building (they have two other buildings that are slightly more expensive). The door entered into a small seating area with a tv set and a small desk. The bedroom (with storage room) is in the back (the street side) and is connected to the seating area by a kitchenette (coffee machine, fridge, microwave) and a pretty spacious bathroom. The room was very clean and has an old fashioned charm about it . There's also a front porch with rocking chairs.

The Wilmingtonian doesn't offer breakfast, but there are complimentary snacks and drinks in the lobby. Obviously, there's free wifi, quite standard these days. Parking is free too, thanks to a parking lot across the street that the hotel uses, wich is an absolute advantage, as The Wilmingtonian is located centrally in Wilmington, just two blocks from the Riverwalk. All the major sights in downtown are within walking distance. We paid about 90 dollars for a single night, which, considering the location and amenities, was perfect.

In all: great room, free parking, fair price, friendly people and a perfect location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stijn-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you very much. We're glad to hear that you had a great time with us here in Wilmington!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our suite was on the 3rd floor of Cinema House & was everything we expected. The unit was similar to a 1 bedroom apartment & included a full kitchen, living room, bath (w/stack washer & dryer) & bedroom. The building is on the "historic" side as it's a 3 story walk-up and not the most modern of accommodations but we loved it. The key is to know what you are getting. By researching the hotel's site in addition to others you know that the building is on the old side, that there is a continental breakfast, that there are no elevators but does feature a "luggage lift". The location is superb as it's only two blocks to the Riverwalk and within easy walking distance of all downtown has to offer. Erich & Jason were great hosts and were very helpful with directions, restaurants etc. Don't forget to visit Southport and the beaches while in town. We'll certainly book The Wilmingtonian on our next visit to the Port City.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you! We enjoyed having you during your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I just got back from Wilmington, NC for a wedding. The bridal party put a package of local option for out-of-town visitors, but I found the Wilmingtonian doing my own search. For 25% less than economy hotels in the area, my husband and I got a suite with a four poster bed, washer / dryer, full kitchen, and a sitting room. The location is a three minute walk from Cape Fear and all the great restaurants and shops in town and was six blocks from the wedding. The hotel had a small bar with bottle water, juices, granola bars, microwave popcorn, and plenty of local information. A really great time.

Room Tip: The suite is great for business and extended stay travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you very much. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We felt that the hotel was overpriced, you are paying for its location being close to the bars restaurants and waterfront. The staff were friendly. We picked the "Casablanca suite" as the photo's looked good on the web page but it was very basic and in need of a bit of TLC. The continental breakfast consisted of a muffin, cereal bars, yoghurt, fruit juice and fruit which you collected from reception and took back to your room to eat. We have never experienced a continental breakfast like this, its acceptable if you are staying for 1 or 2 nights but staying for 5 nights it becomes rather boring. Wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mildredaelliott46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our staff.

I would like to address the rest of your review, however. The Casablanca suite has been painted, a new mattress put in, new carpet and counter tops - all added in the last three months. We are continuously sprucing up suites and there is almost never a time when at least one of them is getting a little TLC.

Our grab-and-go breakfast also consists of bottled water, tea, soda and juice and is absolutely free to guests all day long. For a prepared breakfast there are several great restaurants within a short walk that offer a wide variety of selections.

Our suites include a living room, bedroom and bathroom. The Casablanca (among others) also includes a kitchen. Throw in unlimited snacks and refreshments, free wireless internet and free parking in historic downtown Wilmington all at $109 per night and I'd say that's quite a bargain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
4.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmingtonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmingtonian

Address: 101 S 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4401
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $116 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wilmingtonian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in historic, downtown Wilmington surrounded by beautifully restored 19th-century homes and tree-lined neighborhoods, the meticulously renovated Wilmingtonian Inn extends an invitation to unwind, relax, and absorb the romantic ambiance of Cape Fear Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Wilmingtonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington
Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing