We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was perfect for the occasion.”
Review of The Wilmingtonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wilmingtonian
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It was my friends birthday, she wanted to eat at a French restaurant on the waterfront so I picked the Wilmingtonian because of its location and style. As luck would have it we staying in #5, The Charleston Room which was perfect since Charleston is a favorite of ours. The room was clean, the furniture was tasteful, and our bed was very comfy and solid. My friend just loved everything about the room. There was a wedding reception across the street, but the young people having fun didn't disturb us. The walls do transmit sound more than newer buildings, but fixing that would destroy the architecture. As luck would have it the annual Riverfest Festival was going on, and we watched the fireworks show from the balcony while enjoying a glass of wine. The staff was top notch, allowing us to use their parking lot when we arrived early that morning, and arranged for us to check in early. Thanks!

Room Tip: In our building the rooms have a full kitchenette and the fridge has an icemaker. Be sure to trip th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for the kind review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Wilmington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 230 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We never stay downtown - always out on Wrightsville for most trips, but we decided to stop in Wilmington on our way home from a week in SC to use a Segway tour deal we purchased so we decided for 1 night to give this a try. I was not impressed at all with the very outdated room (#7 Hunting Lodge). It was directly above the office on the corner so noise was also an issue. The bed was also not comfy and very squeaky, which is not a good thing when you can hear thru the walls & certainly not conducive for a romantic night ;)

Overall the employees I dealt with were friendly & helpful but for $175-night during off season I will not be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmieWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We are sorry to hear that our hotel didn't meet your standards. Please know that we are currently updating our rooms with new furniture and beds and we hope that you may one day give us another chance to show you how good we can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you're looking for a chain hotel experience, this isn't the hotel for you. The Wilmingtonian has a historic background and the rooms are non-traditional, feeling more like a small apartment than a hotel. My room had a kitchen, sitting area, and a washer/dryer in addition to typical room amenities, but the property doesn't have a pool, health center, etc. With the historic background comes an odd suite layout with a tiny bathroom and small bedroom, but everything's there for a nice stay. The staff was helpful and friendly but the breakfast was a bit sparse. Overall, I liked it and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rams1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much! We are a small property, but we feel this adds to our charm. Glad to hear that you feel the same. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel has an Antebellum charme, we had the large room above the reception, queen bed a bit small, room however is gorgeous, friendly staff, a healthy breakfast available (you can take the coffees and freesh muffins to your veranda). We liked it, did only stay one night (unfortunately). Extremely close to the waterfront restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. Maybe on your next visit you'll be able to spend a little more time exploring everything that historic Wilmington has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a Sunday Night in preparation for a Monday business meeting in Wilmington. An older property but one that has been restored nicely. We had an upstairs corner room (#7) on the street side. Room was clean and a well furnished suite with small kitchenette, 9 foot ceilings and a "heart of pine" floor. Even though we were on the street side, it was quiet.

Hotel staff was friendly and efficient and the stay included a continental breakfast in the morning. After dinner close by, we sat on the large rockers on our veranda and watched a late summer storm blow through during the evening. The hotel is in the historic district and easy walking distance to the river and the shops and restaurants thereby. Off street parking was free. All in all a nice place if you want something a bit different from the normal chain hotels.

We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, but beware that there was no elevator for our room. Not a problem unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paladin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for the great review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Hunting Lodge (#7). On your next trip maybe you could try out one of our other great suites! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Wilmingtonian and had a great experience. All the staff was very friendly and helpful, from the from desk to the cleaning staff. It was great to have a little extra room vs. a standard hotel room. The location can't be beat. It is so close to everything downtown so it's very convenient to walk everywhere. The courtyard view is very nice and the parking was not a problem at all. There are a few things that could stand to be updated in the room, but overall it has a lot of character and is a good value for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We're so happy to know that you found our location convenient and our rates affordable. Please know that we are currently replacing many of our carpets and we are upgrading the toilets to new environmentally friendly "green" toilets. Soon we will be replacing some of our furniture. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This place really blew us away. We ended up here after our initial plan sold out for the night, not having heard of the hotel previously (this hotel does not come up on Priceline). The price was $30 cheaper than our first option, and the place was fantastic. They had snacks and soda out for us for free in a refrigerator in the lobby (all day, not just for continental breakfast), the rooms were massive (all suites, I believe) and included in-unit laundry, a major plus for us since we were stopping here on a biking tour. The staff were very friendly and helpful the whole time. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone traveling to Wilmington!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

We're so glad that you found us! Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
160 reviews
4.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmingtonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmingtonian

Address: 101 S 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $118 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wilmingtonian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in historic, downtown Wilmington surrounded by beautifully restored 19th-century homes and tree-lined neighborhoods, the meticulously renovated Wilmingtonian Inn extends an invitation to unwind, relax, and absorb the romantic ambiance of Cape Fear Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Wilmingtonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington
Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing