We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodations within the historic section of Wilmington”
Review of The Wilmingtonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wilmingtonian
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodations within the historic section of Wilmington”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed at the Wilmingtonian on a recent bicycle trip down the east coast. The hotel is well located in the hitsoric part of town, and the hotel's accomodations were quite nice. I had a suite for what seemed like a very reasonable price. The suite was large enough to have accomodated a longer stay, although I was only there for one night. If I'm back in Wilmington I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    68
    27
    20
    8
See reviews for
22
122
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I picked this one as it was right downtown and we could get a suite with a separate liviningroom and a small kitchnette very reasonably. It was extremely comfortable and clean....just old. My husband really liked it as he could play his guitar in the wee hours without disturbing me. I loved the location and the city was great. Don't miss Wilmington if you visit NC.

Room Tip: We had the mariner's suite and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks for the recommendation. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

If you are looking or enjoy historic type atmosphere. Then this is the place for you. The staff here have Soithern Hospitality mastered. I brought my dog and when we got into the room they had a dog pillow for him, 2 bowls and treats. The location is awesome and the rooms have a ton of character.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natmo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks so much! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Comfortable suites, helpful staff, and a great location in the middle of downtown. Pet friendly was a big plus, but the daily was a bit much and the only downside. Unfortunately, "pet fees" seem to be an increasingly common way for hotels to increase their rates. I always ask what extra services are performed because a guest stays with a pet and the answer is always the same: nothing. The room is cleaned in the exact same fashion whether a pet has been there or not, so why the extra fee???

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holenhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for this great review. We hope to see you again soon and your furry family member, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed in the Maritime House. It felt more like a small apartment than a hotel. It's got an older feel, but everything is clean. The room has a small fridge and a microwave. The bathroom is spacious. The wifi was a bit weak. I could access it in the living room area but not in the bed area. The lobby has a small room with a fridge stocked full of bottled drinks and yogurt. In the morning, there's fresh fruit, huge muffins, and granola bars. There's also a computer with internet in the small room. The staff was friendly. And of course the location was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
3 Thank extrajourneywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Wanting to be in the Historic District (with plenty of free parking) we chose the Wilmingtonian and so happy we did. As experienced travelers, we like the idea of a small privately owned place without the restrictions or priceyness of a B&B and this was PERFECT. Large, immaculate, comfy suite, balcony with rocking chairs overlooking the beautiful gardens. The reception was warm and friendly, informative and helpful about the area. As second St is not a heavily used street, all is nice and quiet. Front St and Market St are one block away, where all the action is. Would return in a second.

Room Tip: We were in the Cinema House, one of three buildings on the property and thought it was great. As Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefany582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
We couldn't ask for a better review. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We found this place by chance when arriving late at night into Wilmington in January (midweek) and were delighted to get a beautiful suite (kitchen, bathroom, living space and big bedroom) for $70. Receptionist was lovely, and there was muffins and coffee for breakfast. Such good value for money and so comfortable.
So later that week we broke our drive back here too, and got an even bigger suite and were v happy with the service again.
I'd definitely recommend this hotel (and Wilmington itself) to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HannahLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you so much! We'll look for you on your next trip to Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
4.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
6.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmingtonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmingtonian

Property: The Wilmingtonian
Address: 101 S 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4401
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wilmingtonian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in historic, downtown Wilmington surrounded by beautifully restored 19th-century homes and tree-lined neighborhoods, the meticulously renovated Wilmingtonian Inn extends an invitation to unwind, relax, and absorb the romantic ambiance of Cape Fear Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wilmingtonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington
Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing