We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Cozy Inn!!!”
Review of Stemmerman's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stemmerman's Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute and Cozy Inn!!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Amazing place! Very accommodating and great customer service! The rooms were very cute and cozy, location was perfect right downtown and were able to walk to everything! Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bohlmans08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    18
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
40
83
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We recently stayed at Stemmerman's Inn (March 20, 2013) for a quick overnight trip to Wilmington, N.C., and were very pleased with our experience.

From the get go, Michael was accommodating, allowing us an early check in. When we met in person, he was friendly and offered many great suggestions on area restaurants and other fun things to do. We took him up on one of his suggestions - don't miss out on the dining experience at Aubriana's across the street. The food was terrific and the service a step above.

We were given room #3. The room was clean and we were pleased with the appearance of the space. The exposed brick and historic wood in the walls was aesthetically pleasing and the decor was inviting. The bathroom had great water pressure and nice linens / soaps and shampoo. The kitchen area was furnished with small plates, glasses and silverware. And it was a pleasant surprise to find Otis Spunkmeyer muffins, orange juice, and water in the fridge.

Overall, we had a terrific stay and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: We peeked in all the rooms while the housecleaning service was preparing the rooms, and they all wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnicolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hospitality was great! The inn keeper made us feel very welcome, he was very friendly and helpful with information about the town. We showed up 3 hours early and were able to check in with no extra cost. The room was clean, the futon comfortable, shower was a decent size, and the kitchen was good size if staying for a long weekend. Great location too, it's quiet but just down the street from the main attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stemmerman's was very clean and very comfortable. Michael the inn keeper was super friendly and had lots of suggestions for things to see, places to eat, etc... The rooms was great with the kitchen and loft bedroom. The location is perfect surrounded by the river, restaurants, clubs, shops etc... The one complaint was that the skylight over our bed leaked quite a bit throughout our second night there. Sleep was hard to come by with the second night being uncomfortable from the wetness and sound of the dripping onto the mattress next to us. I was disappointed to learn that this is an on going problem that hasn't been properly addressed in our room (#3) and also apparently room #7. So maybe ask about that while making reservations! I really loved Stemmerman's aside from this but just don't think it's ok to knowingly charge your guests to sleep in a bed you know will get leaked on if it rains!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TM75_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stemmermans, General Manager at Stemmerman's Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We also want to thank you for mentioning the leaking skylight. The skylight is not actually leaking. The dripping is from condensation forming on the skylight. We have had professionals reviewing this issue and are dilligently searching for a resolution to the problem. The condensation is normally not a problem unless there is a vast difference between the inside and outside temperature. Please contact the Innkeeper anytime you need attention to your room at Stemmermans. We strive to make all of our guest time spent at Stemmermans a delight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at Stemmerman's from December 27th until December 29th of 2012... my brother kept the room until December 30th. I was in town to play a benefit concert at The Soapbox Club on Front Street. Stemmerman's was not only very convenient for the club location, but was amazing on all points! It was safe, fun, unique, totally comfortable, and the inn-keeper was extremely kind and accomidating! And he gave you the personal touch. If I am in town again, I will definitely come back! On behalf of myself, my family, and the band ... a big Thumbs Up to Stemmerman's Inn!

Room Tip: We were in Room #2. Very nice color scheme ... way comfortable! I had a friend in Room #3 which al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldsboro
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I had such a nice weekend getaway in Wilmington, NC. Our stay at Stemmerman's Inn was great. Mr. M. couldn't be more nice or accommodating and I definitely recommend that you stay here. It's in the heart of downtown and you can park your car and forget about as walking to everything is a must! Thanks Stemmerman's for helping us have a great weekend away!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patti b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My sister and I were making a quick trip to Wilmington to a concert at The Whiskey and we wanted to stay somewhere right downtown so that we could walk to the show and to dinner. I am so glad we picked Stemmerman's. Aesthetically it is stunning, the employees are very accommodating and friendly, the location is perfect, and it is very clean!!! My husband and I plan on staying here for our anniversary and I cannot wait!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 2 which is perfect for friends or if you need 2 beds. My husband and I will stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakobboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
1,368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#30 of 44 in Wilmington
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#20 of 44 in Wilmington
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stemmerman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stemmerman's Inn

Property: Stemmerman's Inn
Address: 130 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4465
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stemmerman's Inn is located on the banks of the Cape Fear River in The VonKampen Building in historic downtown Wilmington, NC. Our accommodations are charming, spacious, and cozy. Each suite has high ceilings, large living spaces, a kitchenette and an upstairs sleeping loft. Wilmington is famous for its southern hospitality and we are just steps away from the shops and restaurants of The Riverwalk. So join us at Stemmerman's Inn and experience all that Wilmington has to offer. This Inn is not handicap accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stemmermans Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing