We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Stemmerman's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stemmerman's Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I spent a couple of nights here last weekend. We had one of the King suites (No. 3). The place was very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the location was fantastic! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eventplannerCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    18
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
38
82
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The sleeper sofas in two different suites are extremely uncomfortable. If just two occupants then the queen size bed is fine. Some of the electrical outlets did not work. TV located in upstairs bedroom and not main floor.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gek56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you want a motel, go stay at a motel. If you want a really cool charming old building with nice little charming suites, then stay at Stemmerman's Inn. We were in town and saw the building as we were parking on the street. I must admit, it doesn't look like a whole lot from the street. But, we called the number and the lady (we think the owner) was charming and very pleasant. So we decided to take a chance. We loved the place. Nice little suite with a nice loft. And all within easy walking distance to the local restaurants and clubs. IF you like historic buildings that have been restored, then give it a chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheb099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My friend and I absolutely adored this inn! We were in Suite #2 and thought it was perfect. There is a little kitchen (with microwave, oven, and fridge), couch, cute bathroom, and view out to the street through the huge windows. Up the stairs were two double beds, a closet, dresser, and television. The walls were prettily painted with the windowed wall being brick, which gave it an urban feel. We genuinely felt like we owned our own cute city loft for a few days.

Also, there is free parking across the street, a patio for anyone's use, and it's right on one of the main strips of the historic distance. It's only a short walk to the restaurants, shops, and docks. Your room key opens a private door downstairs so you don't have to walk in through the office, and even the hallways and stairs have a nicer and cozier feel than a uniform hotel. Oh yeah, one other bonus is free bottled water, orange juice, and pastries in the fridge, as well as free coffee and creamer for the coffee maker. I had absolutely no complaints! It really fit with the vibe of the old and gorgeous downtown. If I go back to Wilmington, it's definitely where I will stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stemmerman's appears quaint and charming on it's website. The location is very good but overall for the value the place can compete with the Hilton (which we switched to) after three nights at Stemmermans. Items to note for travelers include: a front desk with no attendant, paper thin walls where you can hear your neighbor whisper, a rancid front entry rug, a bathroom sink that didn't drain properly, no swimming pool, and overall a space too small to want to stay in an relax. The good? They provided water, juice and breakfast muffins each morning and the shampoo and soaps were nice. Locale can't be beat.

We moved to the Hilton after a flight cancellation and found it to be much more accompdating with a pool, clean an quite rooms and a comparable price point.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Positives:
1. Location
2. Free parking
3. Not cookie cutter interior
4. Cleanliness

Negatives:
1. Support staff not readily available
2. Rooms vary in services yet prices same. For example our room had tv but parents did not. Parents had a trash can but we did not
3. Internet service extremely poor
4. Sleeping sofa had no support and not suitable for any size adult
6. Main beds were also stiff and uncomfortable
5. Some electrical outlets did not work

Overall if you have the time look for a similar priced option at Hilton or best western, both located on the boardwalk of Wilmington.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uvagimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stemmermans, Owner at Stemmerman's Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We are very sorry you were not satisfied with your stay at Stemmerman’s Inn. We strive to ensure each guest has an enjoyable and unique experience at the inn. With just six rooms in the inn, we are a significantly smaller property than the Hilton or Best Western therefore we maintain a small staff and minimal office hours. Our innkeeper, however, lives on the property and is accessible for guest’s needs 24 hours a day by phone.

The décor and color scheme in each room is different and each varies in the bed sizes. However, each room is equipped with the following: a TV (located in the upstairs loft area of the suite); two (2) trash cans; a kitchenette/wet bar; and, WI-FI. Stemmerman’s Inn is located in the historic VanCampen Building (circa 1862) with exposed brick walls and large windows. Unfortunately, the brick walls sometimes interfere with the WI-FI signal available on the property. Most of the rooms are equipped with a standard queen-sized sofa bed. And it is just that, a sofa bed. We usually receive compliments on the comfort of the main beds which are all firm pillow-top mattresses.

There are a number of lodging options in the downtown Wilmington area. We hope you will find one that better suits your needs on your next visit to the area. Thank you for giving Stemmerman’s Inn a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved this inn. It is downtown Wilmington, an easy drive to the beaches. Walk to all the downtown restaurants and the river walk. Free parking around the corner. The units are two levels, with the bedroom and TV upstairs and the sitting room and kitchenette downstairs. The kitchen has a refrigerator, wine glasses, wine opener etc. There is a small deck that you can sit out on around back. The hotel is next to a small banquet hall so there are wedding parties in and out. Looked like a great place for wedding guests/ wedding party. It is hard to find it on the street as the numbers are not in order. Just look for the red door. And it is not correctly marked on google maps. So don't rely on GPS when you get to Front Street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank golisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#30 of 44 in Wilmington
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#20 of 44 in Wilmington
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stemmerman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stemmerman's Inn

Property: Stemmerman's Inn
Address: 130 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4465
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stemmerman's Inn is located on the banks of the Cape Fear River in The VonKampen Building in historic downtown Wilmington, NC. Our accommodations are charming, spacious, and cozy. Each suite has high ceilings, large living spaces, a kitchenette and an upstairs sleeping loft. Wilmington is famous for its southern hospitality and we are just steps away from the shops and restaurants of The Riverwalk. So join us at Stemmerman's Inn and experience all that Wilmington has to offer. This Inn is not handicap accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stemmermans Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing