We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This motel is beginning to show its age” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jameson Inn Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This motel is beginning to show its age”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Jameson Inn in Wilmington, North Carolina. The last time was about three years ago. While I would again rate the quality of my stay as above average, my rating this time is somewhat lower than last time. This motel is in need of some tender loving care. There were many stains on the carpets of the second floor. Water could not be retained in the sink in my room. Much of the woodwork and walls had marks. In addition, this motel may be understaffed. Both mornings the two trash cans in the breakfast area were overflowing, but they were not emptied either day during the 30 minutes I was in the breakfast area. The bed is my room was very comfortable and the location was quiet. The fitness center is small but adequate, although it is in a separate building, which could be somewhat of a problem on a cold day. All of the equipment appeared to be in excellent condition. This motel is on a quiet cul-de-sac but is within easy walking distance of about 10 other motels, as well as shopping at Target, Marshall's, and other stores. Nearby restaurants include Chick-fil-a, Bonefish Grill, Hooters, Waffle House, Arby's, Dunkin' Donuts, and Olive Garden. The Jameson Inn is well located within Wilmington. It is a short drive from downtown, the university, the beaches, and most other locations you would probably want to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bodudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    53
    39
    17
    25
See reviews for
68
49
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Just don't try to take a dip in the pool. "Wilmingtonwood" called or name to attend a film Fest. The @CFIFN to be exact for our film @FromTheWoodsMov. We were recommend some hotels in DT by the festival organizers. The high end rec was too much for our budget, and the low end appeared dingy, and out of DT. So I chose Jameson, same price of low-end rec, but closer and with a better online presentation. I believe it was the right choice.

The staff was friendly, if not casual. The rooms basic, a little small, but sufficient space. If I had one piece of advice for management it would be to upgrade the pillows. Lumpy like poorly mixed mashed potatoes. Location was not as accommodating, or easy as staying downtown (recommended), but it was a short drive, or cab ride away for less. Having Waffle House next door provides for some late night gawking, or grubbing as called for.

Thank you to the staff for being so hospitable. We were happy to stay there, and happy to change hotels to downtown for the next night.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

That stain is still right as you get off the 3rd floor elevator. Trash bags were left in the hall. Smudges and fingerprints on walls and light switches. Carpet was funky in the room, we didn't take our socks off. It looks nice from the outside but desperately needs a good cleaning. Staff very indifferent and not friendly, including housekeepers. I would never stay here again and would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patti r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Greeted by Filthy spot in hall of 3rd floor, window valance was dusty, sheet was torn, black specks on wall near headboard, crumbs in & under recliner had to get a carpet sweeper housekeeping was gone - could not get another room. Noticed that the hotel kitchen was not cleaned & unswept floors we did speak with a manager Bruce & he apologized he offered nothing else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisureGirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, all seemed well. Upon opening the door to our lodging for the next few days, we greeted with the smell of Irish Springs. We looked over at our king sized bed, and saw two little pillow meant for two adults. Why, Jameson in. We called down stairs twice. The first time, they said they would check for extra pillows. The second time, they informed us they were sold out. Apparently the great pillow shortage of 2014 has affected the hotel. We bought a couple from the Target across the street. Our dog was able to accompany us for the reasonable fee of $15.00 per night. Someone else's dog accompanied them and tapped all night long. Luckily we had earplugs. The side stairwell smells like urine and dirt. Maybe just use the elevator. The breakfast leaves a lot to be desired so make plans to go elsewhere if you are expecting anything hearty. Okay value. Probably wouldn't stay again unless I needed to bring my pet.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nununlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Met by lazy staff who couldn't say please. Phone in room not working and rang reception 3 times with no answer. Went down and explained and given key to another room to try phone. Still wouldn't work. Eventually allowed to use the one at the desk. Breakfast was terrible and so were the staff who didn't refill any items. Guy was emptying bins whilst people were eating. Girl at desk obviously was busy talking to a friend for a long period of time and couldn't be bothered with anything going on around her.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorisday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Found hotel on Priceline. Lost our reservation. We called to confirm that evening and when we got there, "who are you"? Had a 10 year old and an infant with us. They only had a K room left with no air. Room was dirty, staff was rude. I got so frustrated with desk clerk I went back to car and sent wife in to deal with Miss Rude. This was going to be a quick one night stay to rest and move on with our vacation. No one got any sleep and we were exhausted the next day. Could not wait to check out and put as much distance between us and this hole as quickly as possible. AVOID!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jevotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
1.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#24 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#32 of 45 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Wilmington - New Centre Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jameson Inn Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jameson Inn Wilmington

Property: Jameson Inn Wilmington
Address: 5102 Dunlea Ct, Wilmington, NC 28405-3476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jameson Inn Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Jameson Inn Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington Nc
Wilmington Jameson Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing