We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful and exciting excursion for all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail Wilmington NC

Sail Wilmington NC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experienced captain Alan Held guides you on sailing tours, charters and lessons on the Cape Fear River. Starting from the Riverwalk in Downtown Wilmington, NC, You will explore the cultural and natural history of the area. A new perspective of the river, downtown and the New Hanover Memorial Bridge make the sunset tour a local favorite tour.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“wonderful and exciting excursion for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Al and Kaete are a lovely and welcoming couple. Their instruction and directions for sailing the ship were easy to understand and follow. They were patient and encouraging teachers to our group of four first-time sailors.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
It was a pleasure to be a part of all your enthusiasm. What a fun group you are. You are natural sailors. Next stop Cape Horn. Well maybe Bermuda. We wish you the best !
Alan and Kaete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We plan our trips around their availability”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We book our sail before we book our hotel, that's how important a sail on the Jammin' is to us. Alan and First Mate Kaete are pleasant company and thoughtful hosts, and you just can't beat a beautiful sunset cruise along the Cape Fear River.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LibryLdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks so much for keeping in touch with us. Next time you are in town for a few days let's make sure we get the best day with a beautiful breeze. Maybe we'll get down to Bald Head Island to visit you. If It is during the week we could sail down and meet you there.
Until Later, Capt. Alan and Kaete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sail away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Capt Alan and Kaete are awesome! Great communication- we were able to adjust plans based on pending weather, leading up to a relaxing afternoon, missing the rain! Learned some interesting history and all aboard able to participate as much as they wanted to. Hoist the sail- we will be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ht_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for your patience waiting for a clearing in the sky. We are happy to have people experience the joy of taking the helm and sailing the boat. You did a great job.
Maybe you will be hooked on sailing. I hope so.
Capt. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect afternoon on the water - experienced sailor or not!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Our family had an amazing afternoon on the Cape Fear River today with Capt. Alan and First Mate Morgan! After several days of rainy weather, we were thrilled to have a long enough break in the rain for a little sailing, and it happened that the conditions made for a perfect trip! We received a friendly greeting at the dock from Capt. Alan and Morgan, and immediately felt as if we'd known them both for ages.

We were made to feel completely comfortable onboard, and I loved that at one time or another during the trip, we all had crew duties (although this was completely optional). Our kids are ages 14 and 16, and Capt. Alan and Morgan were both great about interacting with them and encouraging them to participate, as opposed to having them just be passengers.

This excursion was truly a highlight of our trip to Wilmington, and we will definitely be sailing with Capt. Alan whenever we return. Thanks so much for a great afternoon! (And Steve says you're awesome, too!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to write about us. It was a pleasure to meet you and your kids. They were so polite and ready to learn. Smart too. I think I know who your kids take after. I am in awe of parents like you.
Truly,
Capt. Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a wonderful time on the river with Capt Alan. In addition to providing a very social and friendly atmosphere, the trip provided a basic education on sailing and he made my date feel extremely comfortable and confident at the helm. Overall a wonderful experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Ahoy There,

We have a lot of couples sail with us and my wife and I feel honored to be able to spend an evening getting to know wonderful people like you.

Sometimes it takes a little while to get the feel for sailing. When you think about it - learning to sail in one night is pretty darn good. We hope you continue sailing. There is always more to learn.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Wilmington NC also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sail Wilmington NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing