We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”
Review of Sail Wilmington NC

Sail Wilmington NC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experienced captain Alan Held guides you on sailing tours, charters and lessons on the Cape Fear River. Starting from the Riverwalk in Downtown Wilmington, NC, You will explore the cultural and natural history of the area. A new perspective of the river, downtown and the New Hanover Memorial Bridge make the sunset tour a local favorite tour.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was the second year with Captain Al. This year we met Kate too. Awesome adventure and both Captain Al & Kate are so nice and great to sail with!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesdyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Julie,
Thank you for sailing and spending time with us. We hope all goes well with your surgery and you recover quickly. You are in our thoughts.
Sail on!
Kaete and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience, again!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We've done a sail with them two years in a row and they're phenomenal. They treat you like old friends, educate you on sailing and make it a wonderful experience while still being very professional. Definitely going to make it three years in a row!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hwhite410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Heather and Company,
We loved every minute with you and your terrific friends. Thanks for the invitation to breakfast too. It was like a reunion of old times with funny stories and all. Look forward to spending more time with you.
Capt. Al and Kaete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Educational sail down the Cape Fear river!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our group of five(family and friends) had a delightful time with Captain Alan and e Kate on Monday Memorial May. We learned a lot as we sailed down the Cape Fear River. Alan was generous with his sharing of the helm with others. Kate was our 1st Mate was quite hospitable, helping us with our drinks and sandwiches which we brought aboard.

Captain Alan is quite humorous and had us in stitches on more than one occasion.

Highly recommended!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi. It was a pleasure to have long time friends aboard. You have a lot of memories and interesting tales to tell. We feel so fortunate to be able to be a part of your world.
Thanks,
Alan and Kaete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
1 review
“Bon Voyage!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The 2 hour sunset cruise on the Cape Fear River with Captain Alan and First Mate Kaete on Sail Wilmington was a wonderful experience for all 5 of us. This was the first time we went on a sailboat and we all had a great time. After Captain Alan explained and demonstrated how the boat sailed, he asked if anyone would like a turn at the helm. Both my daughter and husband enjoyed the opportunity at the helm. Meanwhile, my girlfriend and I celebrated our 60th birthdays' with champagne while enjoying the sunset cruise. Special thanks to Captain Alan and First Mate Kaete for our memorable evening! I know we will be back again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 24KGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Bonnie,
It was a nice evening with the Birthday ladies. You know how to make the most out of every moment. I think that is why you will be forever young.
Thanks for sharing your fountain of youth.
Kaete and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful...so much fun!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We surprised our mother for her 65th birthday with a sailing trip and it could not have been a better day or gift. We had so much fun and thoroughly enjoyed spending time with Captain Al and 1st Mate Kaete. We highly recommend a trip! They involved us in every part of the trip and we learned so much about sailing and the history of the area! We would definitely go again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank abbela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Abbe,
It was so refreshing being with you, your sisters and Mom. What a great sense of humor you all have, especially your Mom. We hope there are many more HAPPY BIRTHDAYS coming your way.
You made our day a happy one too by sharing fun family stories.

Thanks for coming aboard Jammin.
Capt Alan and Kaete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Wilmington NC also viewed

 

Been to Sail Wilmington NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing