We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 668 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Melting Pot is Wilmington’s premiere fondue restaurant. We offer both a romantic and family friendly atmosphere for your fine dining fondue experience. Our staff operates with one goal in mind - to provide you with the perfect night out.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Expensive but great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was an amazing experience, the service is great and the food is top notch. My boyfriend says they need more meat in the entree but with a four course meal we still left miserably full and satisfied!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dylhansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
dylhansmom,

Thank you so much for the review. I laughed out loud at your title, it reminded me of an old Robin Williams movie called Crazy People. He is an advertiser who gets landed in the looney bin and uses all of the patients to come up with creative ads. One of which was "Volvo, they're boxy but good". Back on topic though, we are glad you left stuffed and next time ask for me, I'll make sure your boyfriend has enough protein on his plate.
Thank you for supporting my locally owned and operated business.

Cheers,
Jason Shea
Owner
The Melting Pot Wilmington NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Understaffed so glad the food was good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been to many Melting Pots in various towns and were a little disappointed with this one. They were very understaffed so we had 3 different waiters/waitresses and each one of them seemed a little frazzled. The food was good but I was a little surprised at the portions. 7 pieces of veggies for the cheese was simply not enough. By the time we waited on more the cheese had started to burn. We might go back but I can promise you that I won't be as patient as I tried to be this time because everyone was so apologetic. As always the chocolate was the highlight but it didn't overcome the poor service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravelmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
lovetotravelmor,

I apologize for your experience not being up to par. As you know from your previous melting pot visits, that is just not our standard. I hate to say it but every now and then certain circumstances arise and we do end up with too little help. We are sorry that our guests are the ones to suffer and I assure you that I do everything that I can to avoid these types of situations. With that said, there is no excuse and I do hope that you try us again.Thank you for supporting my locally owned and operated business.

Cheers,
Jason Shea
Owner
The Melting Pot Wilmington NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Melting Taste Buds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I know that fondue can taste good.....But this particular chain restaurant has jumped the shark. Gobs of cheese and barely edible spiced oil to cook your food in. Only go if you want a stomach ache.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JAGtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Jagtime,

Thank you for taking time to review all of the local businesses that you try. We all appreciate the feed back whether good or bad, it's how we stay sharp and continue to improve. As a locally owned and operated franchise competing with mom and pop and giant corporate chains I place a high value on guest remarks and am sure to address everyone one in store with my kitchen and service team. We however do not carry a spiced oil, just a canola oil. Did you happen to order our French Quarter Entree which is described as being "seasoned with cajun spices"? I encourage you to give us another shot and I personally guarantee, you will not be disappointed. When you come in ask for me directly, I work full time in the store 5-6 days per week.

Cheers,
Jason Shea
Owner
The Melting Pot Wilmington NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc coast
Level Contributor
118 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went here with some friends last week for dinner. My wife and I had been here before. The food is very good and the choices are excellant. The service was truly great. It takes a while to eat but we hadn't seen these friends for a long time so it didn't bother us at all, just gave us more time to catch up. The prices are a little high but it is worth it once in a while! Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NcHarleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
NcHarleyman,

Thanks for the review, we still have the same great atmosphere and experience. Good news is that prices have come down since your 2012 visit. We revamped the entire menu last year. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you for supporting this locally owned and operated Melting Pot franchise.

Cheers,
Jason Shea
Owner
The Melting Pot Wilmington NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Special Occassion Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Wonderful service & food. A manager came by twice during our meal to be sure everything was going well. I really appreciated the over & above service!! This our go to date night spot!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLover0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Foodlover,

I'm sure you have been back since this review, just wanted to say that I appreciate your business. Thank you for supporting this locally owned and operated Melting Pot franchise.

Cheers,
Jason Shea
Owner
The Melting Pot Wilmington NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing