We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Ice cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boombalatti’s Homemade Ice Cream

Boombalatti’s Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #4 of 26 Dessert in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in The Forum shopping center
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Incredible Ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We always stop at Boombalatti's when we are in town. They have excellent ice cream and we have always found the staff to be friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mnpnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    30
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stopped in after dining at Las Olas next door (also FANTASTIC).
They have a great selection of flavors, served gelato style. The ice cream is so beautiful, it is hard to choose what flavor to try!
We decided to share the 4 mini scoop sampler for 2 of us. We both ordered the chocolate pie and a mocha flavor. They were both very good. The ice cream is so creamy and rich. The 2 mini scoops for each of us was just enough to satisfy our sweet tooth. And it only cost us about $3.50!
We were worried we'd encounter bad service, as warned in other posts, but both young men working were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We actually enjoyed talking to them as they made our ice cream and cleaned up around the shop.
Do keep in mind to take cash, unless you are spending over $7!
Can't wait to make it back down to Wilmington to have some more!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshHatMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I used to like this place, as their ice cream is tasty. However, the last two times I went I had a horrible experience. On my visit today I asked for a sample. The young girl working very rudely told me they do not give samples. She then snapped at me, asking for my order. When she gave me the ice cream she practically threw it at me then stormed off without a word. I left in a bad mood thanks to her. I couldn't even enjoy the ice cream.
On a positive note, the young guy working was friendly and the ice cream was pretty good.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesBechtel, Owner at Boombalatti’s Homemade Ice Cream, responded to this review, November 20, 2016
Hello! I'm Wes and my wife and I purchased Boombalatti's Ice Cream from the owner you mention in your review last June and we set about to make lots of changes! We now happily offer samples, we no longer have any credit card minimum, we've hired plenty of happy employees and we've fully renovated the space.

You left a one-star review a couple of years ago that was very much deserved, but I'd love to get you back into the shop to see what you think of our changes. My wife and I have put a lot of time and effort into the shop to bring back its soul. We want Boombalatti's to be a fun and happy place to stop for some ice cream. If you can make it back into the shop, feel free to email me at wes@boombalattis.com if you have any feedback. We'd also love to see an updated review with your thoughts on our changes. Thanks!
Wes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great after-dinner ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This privately-owned ice cream parlor has many flavor options that are changed frequently. They do shakes, splits, etc. as well. A great place to stop by for a quick treat!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EyerishRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Customer Service Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Worst Customer Service Ever! A group of 4 of us went to this establishment for some ice cream after having dinner next door. After discovering that they would not give samples of the ice cream we decided we would get the 4 small scoop sampler together so we all could try different ice creams to then place an order for our sundaes. So each of us chose a flavor to be one of the four. One of the members of our group did not realize that the child with us had a peanut allergy and ordered a flavor containing peanuts. We asked the OWNER (not a teenage minimum wage worker) if we could put that one scoop in a separate small plastic container since if the child came into contact with any peanut type material he could experience an anaphylactic reaction, which could affect his ability to breathe. The OWNER would not let us do this and when we tried to explain the severity of the allergy, the owner became argumentative, to the point that we just decided to leave. This was unfortunate because then you had the guest who ordered the peanut butter flavor without knowing of the allergy feeling bad for having ordered it, and the child feeling bad for having the dumb luck of being born with an allergy. It is for the Worst Customer Service I have ever experienced that I give this restaurant the worst rating possible. It is for the same reason that I will never return to, bring my guests to, or recommend this establishment ever again. I have read other reviews on multiple sites about the terrible attitude/rudeness of the owner or bad customer service. I do not care how good the product is or isn't, I absolutely will not support a business with such a mean owner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GoldenRuleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesBechtel, Owner at Boombalatti’s Homemade Ice Cream, responded to this review, November 20, 2016
Hello! I'm Wes and my wife and I purchased Boombalatti's Ice Cream from the owner you mention in your review in June of 2015 and we set about to make lots of changes! We now happily offer samples, we no longer have any credit card minimum, we've hired plenty of happy employees and we've fully renovated the space.

You left a one-star review a couple of years ago that was very much deserved, but I'd love to get you back into the shop to see what you think of our changes. My wife and I have put a lot of time and effort into the shop to bring back its soul. We want Boombalatti's to be a fun and happy place to stop for some ice cream. If you can make it back into the shop, feel free to email me at wes@boombalattis.com if you have any feedback. We'd also love to see an updated review with your thoughts on our changes. Thanks!
Wes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boombalatti’s Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Boombalatti’s Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing