We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches!”

Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro
Ranked #98 of 691 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Our dream was to share our love for great food, good drinks, groovy music and the other good things in life with as many friends ~ old and new ~ as we could. ​ ​ (C) 2014 cmw management, llc. All rights reserved chef carey & ron our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria!This cozy, historic building (circa 1900) and quaint, historic downtown setting are perfect companions to these adventurous recipes from our families and from all over the world! So... Sit. Relax. Eat. Drink. Enjoy. The "wayfarer" concept allows us to culinarily travel the globe. Without the restrictions of a specific cuisine, we are free to explore and create food using the best ingredients and recipes we can find from cultures and food suppliers from all over the world.​We craft our roast beef, pork tenderloin and corned beef "in-house" and our meatloaf is made using a family recipe handed down from Chef Carey's beloved Mother. Our deli meats and cheeses are sourced from some of the best purveyors in the world, ensuring nothing but the finest quality. We make everything else from scratch, allowing our wonderful ingredients and carefully constructed recipes to speak for themselves. While we strive to provide quickly prepared quality meals and intuitive service, please note that we fresh-cut all of our meats and cheeses and make 100% of our menu items "as ordered", so please allow proper time for preparation.​Our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria! Our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria!This cozy, historic building (circa 1900) and quaint, historic downtown setting are perfect companions to these adventurous recipes from our families and from all over the world! So...
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on a recent weekend getaway. Service was friendly and prompt, and the menu had a nice range of options. The sandwiches were of high quality and the soup was good. They have a good craft beer menu. I thought the prices were reasonable for what we got.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megkarvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon. In the meantime, check us out online via Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    18
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A tiny place with a lot to offer, great food service and atmosphere. You can't go wrong with anything they offer including the vegetarian plates.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILMlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon. In the meantime, check us out online via Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Artisans food done well. Fresh, new.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Loved it. Great fresh food, specials. Small, trendy atmosphere, you can see your food being freshly prepared.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lleeyyaahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon. In the meantime, check us out online via Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“LOVE this deli”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Moved to Wilmington last summer and have found great restaurants here but Wayfarer had the most delicious sandwiches/deli food I've found so far. Tasty, special, fun. We arrived mid-afternoon on a Wednesday in November and joined just a few other folks at tables inside. Friendly and welcoming service, excellent food, and huge assortment of bottled beer. We had the Cuban Revolution and The Pablo Ramirez sandwiches plus sides of S'Mac N Cheese and French Onion Soup. All homeruns. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guilco83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon. In the meantime, check us out online via Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great, quaint little sandwich shop”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stopped here for lunch when we arrived in Wilmington in early afternoon. The space is tiny and tight, but the food is great and the service is good. We sat at the back bar, so we had a good view of the service area behind the counter, but not much of the street. Not really a problem since we were just stopping in for a quick lunch. The sandwiches and empanadas we had were just what we were looking for, good quality and quick service. Good beer and boutique soft drink selection, too.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank e_moorefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon. In the meantime, check us out online via Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing