We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected delight...”
Review of Mixto - CLOSED

Mixto
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight...”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband & I happened upon this charming spot on a quiet, cold Friday evening. The atmosphere was cozy thanks to the artful decor which includes some amazing "Day of the Dead" portraits and bright paint color choices. The staff was attentive and pleasant and the food was outstanding. We each had grilled fish tacos, which were superb. I had the feeling that everything was made from scratch-certainly tasted like it! The Margaritas were made from fresh juice and a menu item so basic-black beans & rice were delicious. Did I mention the Mariachi Band? We will be back soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grommom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    19
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What happened?!?!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are Wilmington residents, and this WAS one of our favorite places. They used to have: Great food, great service, great atmosphere.....all for a decent price.

That has changed. If you haven't been in a few months, hold on to your hats. The menu is totally different. They removed old favorites like the Mixto Burrito and the salad with sweet potato. They replaced them with what they called a wedge salad (which was not a wedge...strange) and a flavorless burrito called the Barnyard. Barnyard? Where did that come from? The menu appears dumbed down, and they have raised the prices. Fewer choices, higher cost. On top of that, less than stellar service. The server was nice enough, but she was covering the whole place, inside and out, as well as acting as hostess. They used to have a wonderful staff. I understand this is the offseason, but there was hardly anyone in the place. MIxto used to always be busy on a nice warm day. Today was almost 80 degrees, and the place had just a few tables. Even with that, service was slow.

Too bad they changed the menu and raised prices. Looks to be new management or a new owner. Even the website is different. Sadly, we will not be back. The only positive is that the salsa is still good, but that's not enough to bring us back. Goodbye old Mixto.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh food worth tasting”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant not really knowing what to expect but we were really pleasantly surprised. The ingredient seemed very fresh and not over processed, which is something i appreciate a lot. Good service. I will go back if i have the opportunity

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went back in around April with a group of my girlfriends. Went on 1/2 price margarita/sangria night and with food included spent around $12. Great quality for low price. They also offer salsa dancing. Great atmosphere!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 42976ral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“one fine lunch”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Easily accesible from the boardwalk. Limited menu but prepared well. Very casual with outside seating available. Great brunch menu available on Satuday and Sunday.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mixto also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing