We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best riverfront restaurant”
Review of Le Catalan

Le Catalan
Ranked #32 of 703 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: European, French, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Wilmington's authentic French Cafe and Wine Bar established January 2001. "Wine Down" on the Riverwalk! Serving Lunch and Dinner: Soups, Salads, Quiche, Cheese, Charcuterie, Seasonal and Daily Entrees, Dessert... Famous Chocolate Mousse. Wine, Beer and Spirits. Inside/Outside dining and friendly service. Enjoy a river breeze and catch a sunset!
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We've tried most of the places along Wilmington river front, such a joy in the evenings, and Le Catalan is our favourite.

It is not huge, has a simple but delightful style, excellent staff and the prices for good wines and well prepared tapas are excellent value

On our last visit, chef Alan prepared perfect Basil Pesto Tartines with lots of fresh basil, sun dried tomato and tasty cheese plus a little salad. This was followed by a small casserole of Crab and Penne Gratin which we also enjoyed.

It's a great place to sip and snack whilst enjoying the sunset parade on the boardwalk and the river.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank buenvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie P, Owner at Le Catalan, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you, merci for taking the time to review our little French Cafe.
It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant as much as we hope our guests do.
Awesome photo of the Tartines! We hope your travels will bring you back to us one day...
See you soon, a bientot! Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 217 of 235 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Absolutely love it. No huge portions but delicious. Great atmosphere & service. Nice place to catch beautiful Wilmington sunsets (with a glass of wine) ! Consistantly good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ILMBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie P, Owner at Le Catalan, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

It's always good to hear from one of our local guests! We strive for consistancy w/our French Cafe Menu serving European size portions. Le Catalan Classics are available year round while our Specials change based on the season to keep you coming back for more.
See you soon, a bientot! Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Excellent food, wine, service and view! The owners have created a little bit of France on the Wilmington waterfront. The waitstaff is friendly and helpful. If you are visiting Wilmington, NC, be sure to visit Le Catalan.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LWilliams1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

1st trip to Wilmington and we had our Rhodesian Ridgeback in tow with us. They welcomed us and our 85lb dog with pure southern hospitality! We were given water for our dog and not once did they seem annoyed that we brought her even after she spilled her water. The food was amazing as was the service and the owner even checked in with us before we left. The only thing that could have made the experiance better would have been misters (it was VERY hot sitting outside) to help keep us cool in the July heat. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank linusFredericksburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This little cafe is right on the river and has both indoor and outdoor seating. Very yummy gazpacho and a nice wine selection.

Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Catalan also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Le Catalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing