We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy & Friendly”
Review of Le Catalan

Le Catalan
Ranked #26 of 673 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Wilmington's authentic French Cafe and Wine Bar established January 2001. "Wine Down" on the Riverwalk! Serving Lunch and Dinner: Soups, Salads, Quiche, Cheese, Charcuterie, Seasonal and Daily Entrees, Dessert... Famous Chocolate Mousse. Wine, Beer and Spirits. Inside/Outside dining and friendly service. Enjoy a river breeze and catch a sunset!
fredericksburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy & Friendly”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

1st trip to Wilmington and we had our Rhodesian Ridgeback in tow with us. They welcomed us and our 85lb dog with pure southern hospitality! We were given water for our dog and not once did they seem annoyed that we brought her even after she spilled her water. The food was amazing as was the service and the owner even checked in with us before we left. The only thing that could have made the experiance better would have been misters (it was VERY hot sitting outside) to help keep us cool in the July heat. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linusFredericksburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    64
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A quick trip to France”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This little cafe is right on the river and has both indoor and outdoor seating. Very yummy gazpacho and a nice wine selection.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect downtown spot for a small bite and a glass of wine.”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Every time I'm in Wilmington, this place reminds me of my trip to France and its french cafes. It brings wonderful memories. I love two-seat small tables outdoors just like in Paris. It's a great place to relax, enjoy a glass of wine and watch people strolling on the boardwalk.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunnyInes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely setting!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

A nice place to , sip wine, have an appetizer and watch the river and sunsets!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOW
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Just right and on the boardwalk”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Spending a day and night in Wilmington, my wife and I chanced upon Le Catalan and had a light lunch with wine. We enjoyed the food, service and setting on the river boardwalk so much that we returned for supper. The small plate menu is not extensive but the food was very good. There is an ample wine list, and a beer list too. One of Wilmington's better spots and not so crowded as other nearby restaurants. A charming setting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank phil4dar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Catalan also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Le Catalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing