We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The property was spotless. All staff greeeted us each time they saw us. The pool staff worked the entire time making sure the area did not reflect sold out status. Robbie at the front desk was most helpful with giving us ideas for activities. Great property and staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavashot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing the award-winning Homewood Suites Wilmington/Mayfaire on your recent trip to the area. Two things stood out in your review ... Our ‘spotless’ property that did not reflect our sold out status and the personal acknowledgement given to Robbie. Robbie is truly an asset and we will be sure to recognize him among his peers and celebrate his success. Thank you again for your business and we hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    124
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
409
241
33
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and I must say we were not disappointed. My husband and I went on a two night get away to Wilmington. We had never been there before and the hotel staff was so welcoming and nice. They gave us two or three maps with lots of directions. The room was clean and well kept. We stayed for two nights and requested a high floor away from the elevator. Our request was met without any problems. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety and was well stocked. Even though the hotel parking lot looked full, it never seemed full while inside the hotel. There was never a wait for the elevator or for seating at breakfast. They also offered a full meal with complimentary beer and wine from 5-7 p.m. We did not dine at the hotel during the complimentary dinner, but this is a wonderful value for families! Again this hotel was clean, quiet, and relaxing. Thank you Homewood Suites for a relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: We like a top floor room because of foot traffic above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAH336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites Wilmington/Mayfaire on your recent trip to the area. I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your experience, in addition to how you heard about us. Our most instrumental tool is the voice of our valued guests, and we are committed to ensuring your feedback will be used to provide the best guest experience for each of our future guests. I am pleased to hear you received a warm welcome and that our front desk team was attentive to your needs. In addition, thank you for highlighting the results of our hard-working ‘suite-keeping’ team, as you found the property to be clean, quiet and well kept! Safe travels and we look forward to ‘Welcoming’ you home in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The staff at this hotel was incredible. We were visiting Wilmington, NC for a wedding and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The dinner Thurs night was delicious as well as the breakfast each morning. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your business, in addition to your feedback regarding your recent stay at Homewood Suites Wilmington/Mayfaire. Hotels all have common grounds and offer similar features, however it’s the TEAM that sets one apart for another. I am pleased to hear that you felt our team was ‘incredible’ – as they each play an instrumental role in the success of a guests experience. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope that your travels bring you back to Wilmington in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As soon as we walked in we were greeted by very nice people and even got into our room an hour and a half early! We were pleasantly surprised at how lovely the room was and the whole building for that matter. The free breakfast was a great addition to our stay, which was delicious and had many different choices. The hotel also has a free light dinner Monday through Friday. The outdoor and the pool are lovely and very clean. Overall, the price is amazing for what you get and I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites on your excursion to the area. In reading your review, I am pleased to hear your experience exceeded your expectations from the moment you walked in. Thank you for highlight the value one receives when choosing the Homewood Brand. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and 5-Star review. Safe travels and return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week. It was our first time down at Wrightsville Beach/Wilmington area and we absolutely loved it. This hotel was outstanding - it was clean, the staff friendly and they had wonderful perks like great free breakfasts, free light dinners Sunday through Thursday with free beer and wine during that time, a great fitness center, the pool was nice too. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. We loved the sidewalks that led to the shopping and movie theater Mayfaire area from the hotel. It was a short lovely walk to the shopping and theater and we felt very safe walking at night. Our room was very quiet and we were able to grill outside, use our full size refrigerator and our stove/microwave to offset our food cost. There is a Fresh Foods grocery store close by so we could pick up fresh meat and seafood along with great produce. They also had ready prepared food. A short walk for dessert was a local frozen yogurt store close to Harris Teeter grocery store. And our morning drive to the beach took only 10 minutes! That was also great. We both would high recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor because you can hear some clomping around upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
On behalf of the entire Homewood Suites team . . . THANK YOU for your 5 STAR review! I was thrilled to hear your expectations were exceeded from our spacious suites, all-inclusive amenities to our award-winning team and convenient location. I particularly enjoyed reading how you used our outdoor living space as an extension of your suite, including our resort-style pool and gas grills. We truly appreciate your business, in addition to your personal recommendation. Safe Travels and we look forward to your future returns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I chose Homewood Suites because of all of the fantastic reviews. My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and were disappointed from the start.
I called to inform them that we'd be checking in late because we had a long drive from DC in plenty of traffic. They assured me that it was no problem and that the front desk was open 24-hours.
Our first disappointment was finding out that it is not near anything that we came to see. Downtown Wilmington is ~1/2 hour drive from the hotel, and the beaches are another 30-40 minutes in the opposite direction. Not the most convenient location for a stay in Wilmington at all.
When we checked in at 11pm, we were informed that our King Suite that we had booked was no longer available and that we'd be staying in a double queen suite. When we asked what the reason was for this, they said it was because people had chosen to extend their stays and there were no king size suites available anymore. Despite the fact that we booked a king suite, they said everything was full and there was nothing they could do. I was very annoyed considering I had called ahead to make sure our room wasn't given away.
Being overtired, we didn't make too much fuss about it and went to our room, only to have a cockroach scurry across the floor as soon as we turned on the lights. My husband squished it and took a picture to show the manager the next day.
After speaking to the manager about this, he offered us no peace of mind for anything that had happened. He told us an exterminator comes around twice a week and that there's nothing else they can do. I don't pay $120 a night to have cockroaches crawling around my sleeping area.
The rooms were nice enough otherwise and seemed to be clean, but we were thoroughly unimpressed with the staff and their response so such an unfortunate situation. I spoke with the manager several times, and we were finally compensated one night after much arguing.
I will absolutely never stay here again due to poor hospitality and inconvenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites Wilmington/Mayfaire on your recent trip to the area. It is very important to us that all of guests have a rewarding stay. My sincere apologies as your experience appears to not follow suit with the hotel’s mission. The hotel resides in Mayfaire Town Center, which is 2.4 miles from Wrightsville Beach and 7.8 miles from Downtown Wilmington, my regret this was not your perception. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you at your convenience-Greg Thompson, 910.791.7272 or greg.thompson@hilton.com as I would like to re-instill your trust in the Homewood Suites Wilmington location for future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is our second visit to Wilmington. We chose to stay at Homewood Suites again. Our stay was as wonderful as the first time we visited Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach. Everyone was very kind and helpful. The breakfast staff was awesome and Kyle and Matt provided an amazing dinner as always. This hotel is a clean home away from home. If a problem does arise, then they are right there to fix it for you. It is also a great area to take a walk around and there are many shops and restaurants in walking distance. Thank you again Homewood Suites Staff for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laci2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and making Homewood Suites Wilmington/Mayfaire your #1 choice when traveling to the Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach area. I know the team will be thrilled to hear your comments regarding ‘kind and helpful,’ ‘clean home’ and ‘personalized service’. The key to success is consistency and I feel that is evident in your review. Thank you again for your business and continued loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Address: 6732 Swan Mill Rd, Wilmington, NC 28405-3181
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#1 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing