We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A run-of-the-mill "family fun" place that entertains kids well enough”

Jungle Rapids Family Fun Park
Ranked #23 of 113 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go Karts, Laser Tag, Miniature Golf, Arcade, Rock Climbing Wall, Kids Jungle Indoor Playground, and Water Park (closed for the season). Something for everyone!
Brandywine, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A run-of-the-mill "family fun" place that entertains kids well enough”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Jungle Rapids has plenty of options for entertaining children, especially kids ranging from 7-12. The arcade is plentiful (requiring tokens aplenty, but you do get tickets that can be redeemed for small, inexpensive prizes). There is laser tag, go-carts, a small water park, small rock wall, a small food court, etc. The place is tired and a bit run down. The women's bathroom wasn't exactly "fresh" by closing time (when I needed to use it). The young lady behind the prize counter wasn't rude but she certainly wasn't cheerful either.

My kids thought it was great but they also think Chuck E Cheese is great, whereas I do not. So I think Jungle Rapids is a fine way to pass an afternoon, but it's not my favorite way to do it and I don't highly recommend this. Compared to the other local attractions in Wilmington (Battleship, Serpentarium, etc), I would just as soon skip it. For water fun, there's the beach!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KCPrevatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    61
    29
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An OKAY Time”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Park really wasn't worth the money. Might be fun for little kids but there isn't enough water slides to be charging $30. They have one good tube slide, than a mat slide that really wasn't any fun. They do have the racing mat slide which was fun but the rest were all for little children. Not worth the time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KtWhiting921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATKINSON, NC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fun fun place”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

a good place to take the family. there is something for everyone. arcade games to water park to go carts. something for every age.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NAPALM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best family place in Wilmington for the day!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

There is NOTHING this place in lacking in. Food, prizes, games, bounce houses, arcades, a huge waterpark with a seperate toddler area too!!! The staff is SUPER NICE, the place is CLEAN, and for $35 you can stay 9 HOURS and enjoy the waterpark and facilities!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank theseaforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooviemadness
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice party place for younger kids, but an overpriced waterpark”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a party for my grandchild at Jungle Rapids in the Kid's Jungle, which is an indoor playground for kids 8 and younger. The party includes 90 minutes in a party room with 2 slices of pizza per child. A pizza for the adults costs extra (21.99 for one pizza and 2 pitchers of beverages). The kids can play in the jungle, and there is a party pack with 8 tokens per child. The birthday child gets a JR t-shirt, a photo with all the party guests, and a pass for 4 free visits to the Jungle. The minimum amount of guests is 10. Our exclusive party hostess was professional and very helpful. She served the cake to the children after we sang "Happy Birthday". After the party and playground activities, the kids can go to the arcade to use their tokens.

If less then 10 kids attend, the host is instructed not to give the birthday child the extra party packs with arcade tokens (I insisted that my grandchild get the extra packs-we paid for them!) The souvenir photo is taken by the host, and not by a photographer who knows how to work with subjects, and the photo quality isn't that good. The place can get noisy on Saturdays with all the parties, but when we returned for one of the free visits on a late Sunday afternoon, it was very quiet. The arcade also gets very busy. The kids liked playing games and getting tickets. As others have noted, the food isn't very good.

We did not go to the water park since it was a Kid's Jungle party. However, I have been there in the past with my kids. For the small amount of attractions they have, it's overpriced. I'm sure the prices are based on the fact that JR is the only water park in the area. I'd prefer to go visit a water park in Myrtle Beach, which is about 75 miles away.

Fortunately, my granddaughter and friends had a good time during the party. There are themed parties for kids over 8 years old, such as laser tag and putt-putt.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mooviemadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Rapids Family Fun Park also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Jungle Rapids Family Fun Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing