We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cabin!”
Review of Wilmington KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilmington KOA
Certificate of Excellence
burlington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little cabin!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My family decided last minute to go to the beach for the weekend since the weather was going to be nice and we had a free weekend. We searched all the area hotels for a dog friendly room and most all the hotels were booked. We stumbled across the KOA site after doing a "dog friendly places to stay in Wilmington" search and we had stayed at KOA's in the past while tent camping and thought we'd give it a try. We called and they had one pet friendly 1-room cabin (w/out a bathroom) left so we booked it. The rates were good for a Friday and Saturday. Total was a little under $170.00.

We arrived Friday evening after dark and KOA had left our keys and WiFi information in an envelope taped to the office door. We got to our cabin and to our delight, it was a little bigger than I thought it would be. The cabin had one full bed, a set of twin bunks, a little ledge-like table with 2 bar stool chairs, another little shelf and hooks on the wall and back of the door for hanging stuff. The cabin also had a mini fridge, AC/heater, and a small cable t.v. attached from the wall. Outside was a picinic table, a nice fire pit with a grate over one side to cook on, a swing on the porch, and a stand up park-style grill. Everything was clean and in good condition. The beds were pretty comfortable and we had no issues with temperatue control in the cabin.

The next day, our dogs enjoyed the big bark park and son played basketball on the court and played some on the playground. The pool was closed but it was a good size and had a good size lounging area around it. The pool guys were there cleaning it so they keep it up.

The bathroom facilities were super clean, the grounds were kept clean and were in good condition, and the staff was super nice!! They have a nice general store fully stocked and the space between the RVs and cabins was good.

Location is great. Just about 10 minutes from Wrightsville Beach and 25 minutes from Carolina Beach. There are plenty of restaurants, shops, gas stations (a Hess right at the enterance), and things to do around the area.

Overall, this KOA had a good feeling to it. Clean, quiet, safe and everything you need to tent camp, RV or cabin camp. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirlnc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    27
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
75
46
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Upon arrival, the front office staff was extremely unfriendly and not very knowledgeable. We reserved our site, and when we went to the site we didn't like the location. We rode around to look at another site and were flagged down and told we were in the wrong place. We knew this, we were just investigating other options. We picked the site we wanted and went back to the office to switch and were told "I don't know how to put that in the computer." We are also offered a discount at every other KOA and we were told "we don't do any discounts here." The facility itself was nice enough, but very small. There were a lot of permanent campers and it almost seemed more like a trailer park than a campground. Also, only one bathhouse and when it is closed there is nowhere else to go. I will definitely explore other options before staying here again. Not impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The only negative thing I have to say is that the bed itself was awful. However, everything else was so nice it didn't really bother me. And I just napped on the beach.
The staff was excellent.
My dog and I would definitely stay there again. We especially enjoyed the dog park.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrissyMilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed there in June in one of the cabins. It was clean and everyone that worked there was friendly. Of course they all couldn't believe how big Great Danes can be. It was really great to be able to just walk out of your door and have a yard area for the dog, not to mention a dog park! There were lots of people there with their dogs, and they were all friendly too. This is a 100 times better than staying in a hotel with dogs. I will always look for a KOA whenever I travel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cooper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was very clean and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The site was nice. Had a fire ring, grass, and some trees. One thing we looked most about this place, is the location. We were just a few minutes drive from great restaurants and beautiful beaches. Will be back, that's for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed five nights here during the July 4th week. Overall, the campgrounds were kept clean and staff was friendly. The pool area was clean and very nice lounge chairs and tables - only complaint was that on one day they cleaned the pool at 10:30 in the morning, so we all had to get out for 40 minutes. This is something that should be done earlier in the morning before the guests are actually in the pool. Their website offers certain lots at a higher rate that has a "larger grassy area". We opted to pay the additional amount, but were disappointed as we could not see any difference in lot size. Also, if you are looking online at the campground map, be aware that lot size is not accurate. For example, corner lot #35 is shown to be one of the biggest lots on the map, however, it was one of the smallest. Just saying to be aware so you are not disappointed as we were. The staff did move us and did their best to satisfy us. So I give them a bravo for customer service on that considering it was July 4th week. The dog park(s), pool, playground area all were great and we would return to this KOA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoPurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed here twice and love it. Great facilities and activities. Very family friendly environment. The girls love riding their backs to the playground. The only downside is it's not on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilmington KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilmington KOA

Property: Wilmington KOA
Address: 7415 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28411-9454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wilmington
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minute you set foot at Wilmington KOA, you'll see for yourself why we have won the prestigious Founder's Award, a coveted honor that proves we're leading the way in the KOA camping and lodging experience, since 2009. Our relaxing nature retreat is hidden in the heart of Wilmington's city life, providing the perfect blend of solitude and entertainment. With sprawling Southern Pines shadowing our RV resort and luxurious cabin accommodations, you and your family will experience the fun of camping with all the comforts of home. There's something for everyone - from a sparkling swimming pool and cozy game room to a stocked camp store and even a playground for your pets. And when you venture beyond the campground, our friendly staff will help point you in the direction of wherever you want to go - whether it be the historical U.S.S. North Carolina Battleship, a romantic riverboat cruise, or the North Carolina Aquarium at Fort Fisher, one of the region's largest aquariums. Plus, you'll find yourself only five miles from the sun-drenched sand and surf of Wrightsville Beach and mere minutes from the charming historic downtown shopping and dining district. You have to see it to believe it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilmington Koa Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing