We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Clean Plate”
Review of Fish Bites

Fish Bites
Ranked #10 of 678 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving the best and freshest Seafood in Wilmington and surrounding areas. Live Lobster Tank. Local fisherman owned. Fresh seafood arriving daily. Daily specials. Homemade Desserts. Casual gourmet. Super friendly waitstaff. Where the locals hang out.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always a Clean Plate”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great selection of FRESH seafood. The crab and shrimp cakes are excellent. Fried seafood platter is a great choice too. The wait staff is always friendly and professional. The only downside to Fish Bites is the wait for a table, especially in the summer months, but that's because the food is so good. Go early if you can.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    166
    60
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fish Bites is always great!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We love it here. ..the freshest fish in Wilmington. The food is always great and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Psandspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishBites, General Manager at Fish Bites, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your fantactic review. It really means something to us when people take thier own time to go and leave us these great reviews. Thank you again. fish bites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Station
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best seafood ever!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Got to try the chowder! Small seating but this is the best chef anywhere! Do not let the outside scare you away. Dad and I ate there twice a day for two days. Was only there for three. Took a day to discover it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Olan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishBites, General Manager at Fish Bites, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are really appreciate it. The chowder is my favorite to. Please come back to see us when you are back in town. Thanks, Fish Bites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

One of the best and freshest seafood meals I've ever had. Prices were very reasonable and the amount of food they give you is great. Had their fried seafood platter, cooked perfectly. Liked the different sides available. Desserts looked good but to full to try any. You have to watch for the location it's in a small strip with other shops. Well worth finding! Will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NCFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishBites, General Manager at Fish Bites, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed everything. We take pride in providing the freshest seafood in Wilmington. Thank you for the great review, we appreciate the time you took to let us know the good things about our restaurant. Many times people only take time to tell the bad. We hope to see you again when you are back this way. Again Thank you, Max Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and prices”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Delicious, affordable seafood. Accommodating waitstaff too...When I inquired about how spicy the shrimps and grits were (on the Sunday brunch menu only) Drew told me they could "tone it down a bit" for me. It was perfect! Not spicy at all, but absolutely delicious. So was the biscuit that accompanied the shrimp and grits. My husband ordered (and I tried some of his) crab cakes. Very yummy as well! Can't wait to go back!! Have heard that both the caesar salad is great, and that their fish is very fresh.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brunettesweetness82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Bites also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fish Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing