We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Romantic Dinner”

Aubriana's Fine Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
Aubriana's Fine Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 673 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Dock, Orange
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet Romantic Dinner”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I ate at Aubriana's our last night in Wilmington. The owner of our B & B recommended it, but also indicated that he had not eaten here since the new chef has started. Both of our meals were excellent. My husband had the fried chicken with a corn meal type belgium waffle. He totally enjoyed every bite. The combination, while a bit heavy for my taste, was very good and different. I had the redfish with potatoes and green beans. While my dinner was excellent and really met my needs that evening, the server needed to be a bit more informed. When asked about the redfish, she told us it was between and drum and a grouper. Therefore, I'm not really sure exactly what kind of fish I was eating. The menu indicated roasted potatoes, which were in fact mashed. I asked for a glass of chardonnay. She did select a very good wine based on my taste, but I would have liked to have known that it was a $13 glass of wine before being served. In spite of these minor comments, we would definitely return. It was a nice, quiet restaurant on a Friday evening in the summer. The location on Front street was easy to find and close to the waterfront.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    29
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not 'fine dining'”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Terrible experience, had dinner here on the 4th of July with out-of-town guests and we were all sadly disappointed. Poor quality of food especially for the price you pay! We had rancid walnuts on our salad and the vegetable ficasse that came with the NZ lamb tasted like frozen vegetables that had been overcooked. I don't recommend this restaurant as there are plenty others in downtown Wilmington with much better quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaOki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kure Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Average at best - not 'fine dining'”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had been looking forward to trying this place since the new chef took over. And I was disappointed. The food wasn't bad but it was average and didn't live up to the hype. We asked the waitress what she recommended and she responded by saying she had not eaten any of the dishes. Very unhelpful. We ordered the shrimp, crab and corn chowder. Barely lukewarm, no flavor other than mountains of corn - just a bite or two of seafood. Grill marks on the filet were bitter and acidic they were so burnt. Had to slice off the top of the filet. Fried chicken had been left in the fryer just a minute too long. And the prices on the check rang up $4 higher than advertised prices. No apology. No manager visit. Next time, I'll take my business somewhere where the prices justify the experience. It is shameful to call this fine dining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank apexdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dining event”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great food, service, drinks. We had five couples, and all of us had rave reviews. Will be back again...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful night out”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and another couple celebrated our anniversay over the weekend at Aubriana's. It was a lovely evening so we dined in the open air courtyard. The food was great. Three of us had filet which was fork-cutting tender and prepared exactly as we requested. The wine selection is good and features some very reasonably priced bottles. The waiter was well trained, knowledgable of the menu and wines and attentive without being a pest. This is a restaurant that is about a block outside restaurant and bar row on Front Street so I am concerned that many visitors may select other venues simply because they encounter them before reaching Aubriana's. That is a mistake. The quality and value of your dining experience at Aubriana's is well worth walking the extra block.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 145Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aubriana's Fine Dining also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Aubriana's Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing