We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small restaurant, big in atmosphere”
Review of Black Sea Grill

Black Sea Grill
Ranked #48 of 685 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Black Sea Grill is a family owned & operated Mediterranean Turkish cuisine, casual family dining restaurant. Our family chef prepares your individual order using fresh local produce, meats, vegetables & fish. We offer that intimate experience, family dining or can accommodate that business meeting. We also offer a "GLUTEN FREE" Menu.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, big in atmosphere”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Located just a block from the Cape Fear River in downtown Wilmington, the Black Sea Grill is cozy and inviting with dark wood throughout and Turkish plates on the back wall - a great location for dinner and a walk.

For appetizers we shared a large plate of grilled fresh black anchovies served over onion with herbs and sherry vinegar. They were lightly salted, slightly crispy, and very flavorful.

Entrees came with jasmine rice and salad or sautéed cabbage. My husband chose the salmon special but didn't really want the rice. Not a problem, he was offered the salad and cabbage, perfect solution with no harangue about no substitutions. The salmon was perfectly grilled, the salad well dressed and herbaceous, and the cabbage lightly sautéed. My grilled shrimp were delicious. I also heard customers raving about the baby lamb chops. Great dinner!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MosbyScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    42
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Goo. . little restaurant!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went to Black Sea Grill with another couple this evening. Started with spanakopita (sp?). Spinach in filo. Not great--kind of greasy and soggy on the bottom and lukewarm in temp. I had a Turkish beer--$4. It was a pilsener. Light but refreshing. Wife had a white pinot grigio--$6--tasted good, but she would have preferred a white zinfindel, but it wasn't on the wine list. For main dish I had the combination plate: two lambchops, lamb/beef patty, beef and chicken kabobs, jasmine rice, and fried cabbage (3 different kinds) with a garlic sauce. The meats were savory and nicely spiced. Yhe chicken was chunky and flavorful. Cabbage was tasty.
Wife had chicken kabobs with house salad. Both were good. Backlava for dessert. Excellent--not too sweet--homemade and tasted great--3 pieces were enough for two. I had Turkish coffee--very good; wife had regular--said it was good. Bill ccame to $51 and change before tax. Ed

Check out the extensive collection of autographed photos: Elizabeth Taylor, Johnny Depp, Muhammed Ali, many others (around 250).

Service was spotty, but friendly. The restaurant is family-owned and operated. The place is cozy and inviting.

Reservations recommended and good luck finding a free space to park unless you are willing to walk a little.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lamb Chops for my Little Girl”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

While visiting my daughter and family this past weekend, my son-in-law suggested we go here for dinner. They frequent this restaurant not only for the great food and service, but how they treat little ones. My 5 year old granddaughter loves lamb chops, when the chef heard this he created a special children's portion just for her. This is the second time they have they have done this for her. Amazing food, very friendly staff, and good lord, the rice could be an entree in itself! We all had different entrees, all equally great, look forward to returning when we come back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Branzini!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Went to Black Sea Grill last night. It's becoming our Friday night norm. Make reservations. Had the branzini. I have no idea how to spell but it's the whole fish. I get it whenever they have it. Perfecto! Anchovies and falafel app. Value for the food is great. Everything is fresh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Turkey in North Carolina”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Salads were good, Pita was flat (as is the norm in the USA) The meat was average. The atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. Coming from the Middle east I feel I can be a little more critical of Eastern cuisine. I might go again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rosebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sea Grill also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Black Sea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing