We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Wilmington”
Review of Catch

Catch
Reserve with OpenTable
Catch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 691 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef"contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes and his team, explore the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce.Providing the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef Dubbed by NYT's,"Modern Seafood Cuisine" we offer an array Fresh Seafood and Vegetarian and Vegan offerings ,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our "Fire Cracker" Shrimp, NC Oysters on the 1/2 Shell, Seafood Ceviche & Conch Fritters . Larger Plates include our "Angry" Maine Lobster, Prime Steaks, Blackend Mahi Mahi & our Award winning Charleston Crab Cakes, Seared OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Black Grouper. Full ABC Permits.Large selection of boutique Wines by the Glass, Hand crafted Cocktails And over a half a dozen rotating local beer offerings.
Wilmington, nc, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Wilmington”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We eat here often. It's pricey but so worth it. Besides all their other great dishes (loooove the ceviche) their fries are probably the best I've ever had. Their crabcakes are the real deal and my daughter dreams of their pulled pork. Make a reservation!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    85
    48
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but Expensive”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have eaten at Catch a few times, usually for a special occasion. My wife and I have had good experiences with both the food and staff but have found the prices to be higher than many of the other excellent restaurants in Wilmington. It is located in a strip mall away from the beaches and downtown. We also find that when the restaurant is full the sound carries so it becomes somewhat noisy. It does have a reputation for excellent seafood but we find that the food doesn't justify the cost.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rpape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great !”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great food ... great service ... great owners !!! A totally enjoyable dining experience. We dined here on a crowded Friday evening and everything was superbly done.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Special Place!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Incredible gourmet food in a casual setting. We had a party of four, had 4 appetizers of which three rated 10 out of 10. All four entrees were fresh and unbelievably good. Expensive for us for any meal except a special occasion...but well worth the special occasion!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jody031560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My partner and I came here on the recommendation of a work colleague while on a short trip to Wrightsville Beach. The appetizers (sweet potato salad and Thai pork salad) were excellent, and we were prepared for superb entrees. However, after a very long wait, what was delivered was quite disappointing. My grouper with mashed potatoes was bland and was a very small portion for $32. My partner's dish, however, was simply not good. The snapper was so tough that it had to be cut with a knife, and the accompanying black beans and rice were tasteless. We did mention our dissatisfaction to our server, Christina, and she expressed appropriate regret and summoned the manager. Unfortunately, the manager was obviously not interested in hearing our feedback; she didn't ask us any questions about the food but instead gave a short speech apologizing for the situation, said that the snapper would be removed from our bill, and offered us a free dessert, either chocolate creme brulee or coconut cake. We opted for the former but were quite astonished when only one was brought to the table with an extra spoon for sharing! The creme brulee was well executed, but the whole experience left a bad taste in our mouths. We will not be back on subsequent visits to the beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing